Help please with code to autorun CD

Discussion in 'Computers' started by scotjimland, Oct 23, 2011.

  1. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    I have made a CD of my family history website, when loaded it runs fine but you have to navigate to the index html page, then it runs in the browser fine, not a problem for me but I want to give it to others so I want to make it autorun when loaded into the CD player ..

    I know where to put the autorun.inf file, but can't get the code to work.. so have made a lot of CD coasters :cry:

    the latest code I tried was:

    [autorun]
    shellexecute=index.htm

    what code do I need, nothing fancy, just to make the cd autoplay ?
     
  2. acting_strange

    acting_strange

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,398
    Likes Received:
    2,568
    Location:
    North Hykeham
  3. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,249
    Likes Received:
    34,482
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    There are so many different ways of adjusting the settings in different operating systems that using built-in Autoplay can be a bit of a nightmare.

    On all our CDs we include the AutoRun.exe program and use an autorun.inf fiile of the form
    The program is only 8K and can be downloaded via link from Here.
     
  4. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Thanks, I've read several help sites already and tried several bits of code ... maybe it's just me being a numpty but haven't managed to get one to actually work.. hence the pile of CD coasters ....

    Thanks Graham , gave that a try but the program wont run on my machine.. (Windows7 64bit) get a warning up when I try to execute it


    It was all so easy on the Mac :Laughing:
     
  5. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,249
    Likes Received:
    34,482
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Well, you will go having them posh 64 bit operating systems :BigGrin: Works fine on Win 7 32 bit. Can you run it in compatibility mode?
     
  6. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    I'm looking for a short rope right now :Laughing:
     
  7. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,249
    Likes Received:
    34,482
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Just tell people to double-click the index.htm file, Jim. They'll appreciate the content even more if they have to work for it :BigGrin:
     
  8. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,941
    Likes Received:
    14,014
    Location:
    UK
    I seem to remember that MS was disabling autorun for removable media as it was a security risk. I know it is disabled on any machine I have.
     
  9. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Thanks, I wasn't aware of that.

    while searching Help I discovered there is a difference between AutoPlay and AutoRun ..

     
  10. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,249
    Likes Received:
    34,482
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    They certainly talked about it but I don't know how far it went in different circumstances. I tried running one of our own CDs from the external drive when I bought the Win 7 netbook and it worked OK.

    Microsoft certainly c*cked it up in IE8 on Vista. Caused me all sorts of trouble proving that one of our products was OK and that Microsoft had made a complete hash of the specification, design, coding and (complete lack of) properly structured testing. I got a few quid out of them but it cost me more in time.
     
Loading...

Share This Page