Help please.re "Sky boxes" as Freesat boxes, in Portugal

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Tea Bag, Oct 18, 2015.

  1. Tea Bag

    Tea Bag Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,254
    Likes Received:
    2,181
    Location:
    Portugal
    Hi.
    We are living in Portugal,and i have 3 Sky boxes, " 2 are SkyBSky ? DRX 890C.and the third is an Amstrad DRX550 that has never been used.
    Is there any way i could rig any of these up and use them as "Free Sat" boxes please ? We have a HUGE Sat dish,so that is not a problem as regards signals. Any help would be appreciated,i do not have ANY TV knowledge,but know a man who i can get in touch with if the answer is yes,and he could then unravel any knowledge passed on.
    Thanks in advance for any help,even if the answer is NO!! LOL
    Tea Bag
     
  2. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,751
    Likes Received:
    11,954
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    We had a sky box, no idea of model but it was the basic one at the time. As we didn't actually find anything worth watching on sky, when the subscription ran out we kept the box and used it to watch the freeway channels like BBC.

    So I guess your boxes should do the same but I suspect you might need a 3m dish to pick up the Beeb, if it is possible at all.

    @Satandpcguy is the expert.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    You cannot get Freesat on a Sky box - the are two different companies using different software.

    But a Sky box without a sky card will get the same channels that are on a Freesat box.

    If you want Freesat, and use the Freesat EPG, then you need a Freesat receiver.

    But as you already have Sky boxes, and they get the same channels as you get on Freesat, and as channels on a SKy box and Freesat box use the same satellites, signals, and frequencies, unless you really want to then there is no need in changing from the sky boxes.


    Unless you want the ability to record, in which case a Freesat+HD box allows you to record subscription free, whereas Sky boxes require a sky+ subscription to record.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,601
    Location:
    .
    o_O
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. gus-lopez

    gus-lopez Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    5,084
    Likes Received:
    9,692
    Location:
    Lorca,Murcia,Spain
    He said they'll do the job using the sky system.(y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Tea Bag

    Tea Bag Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,254
    Likes Received:
    2,181
    Location:
    Portugal
    Hi.
    Thanks to you all for reading this post. Thanks to Satandpcguy, thanks to DBK. and last but not least,thanks to Scotjimland,(From the face,it would appear we are on the same wavelength..LOL!!) and gus-lopez,result.
    This has saved me the effort,of putting them under the back wheel and reversing over them,will let you all know, when the man i think can...... DOES LOL. Take care out there,it's hell on the hill !.
    Tea Bag (Sky box horder OL)
     
Loading...

Share This Page