Help please I have a foreign invader

Discussion in 'Computers' started by ourcampersbeentrashed, Mar 11, 2009.

  1. ourcampersbeentrashed

    ourcampersbeentrashed Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    7,652
    Likes Received:
    4,284
    Location:
    East London
    Watched the gadget show on Fiver today

    so did what they did and typed in the word

    netstat in command prompt mode

    and low and behold I have a foreign invader ip address appearing as well as mine

    So presumably they either have control of my pc or have previously hacked it.

    What they didnt show on the tv programme was how to kill the foreign invader off

    Any computer whizzes out there who can tell a fairly illiterate pc user how to get rid of the foreign ip address and stop it from happening again.

    We have zonealarm firewall and avg anti virus.


    Many thanks in advance
     
  2. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,447
    Likes Received:
    25,133
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Try typing QUIT <enter> or EXIT <enter> in the DOS box.
     
  3. Blisters

    Blisters Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent
    sorry can't help with this, not a techno whiz,

    Just offering some sympathy as it just not your week:hug:
     
  4. sinbad1

    sinbad1 Deleted User

    I doubt you have an invader as you say, unles you understand dos its best left alone.

    Since you are protected by firewall and AV i wouldn't worry too much, you can check your pc's defence click here

    If your setup is wireless and not protected using wep or psk then you will be at risk of an intruder gaining access to your network.

    Regards
     
  5. ourcampersbeentrashed

    ourcampersbeentrashed Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    7,652
    Likes Received:
    4,284
    Location:
    East London

    We have a bt wireless system but have wired it up. please explain wep or psk as I dont think I have either of those many thanks
     
  6. sinbad1

    sinbad1 Deleted User

    If your PC is connected via a cable then there is no problem; not sure about the bt hub you'll need to read up on that, maybe a light on it to show its enabled.

    If you havent changed any settings i think they all come standard that are configured to use your WEP code, so a person can't actually gain access to your net without using the code.
    Unless they hack the connection somehow. That way you dont have to disable it and it can be there if you have a friend come round with a laptop or have a games console to connect to it easily without having to re enable it.

    Regards



    Regards
     
  7. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    2,107
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Hi ourcamper, WEP is a system for securing your Wi-Fi so others can't get into it, most Wi-Fi routers come with WEP and the better WPA, but they are not installed by default, you normally have to go into the router and turn them on.

    Although neither WEP or WPA is totally secure, for most people they are plenty good enough.

    Can't help with netstat, don't really understand it myself. :BigGrin:

    Olley
     
  8. ruffingitsmoothly

    ruffingitsmoothly Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    West of Southampton edge

    Hi try this

    [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RlKxI8HcdWI]YouTube - How-to: Use NETSTAT.EXE to detect spyware/malware[/ame]

    So you can get a printout might help:thumb:

    Regards Pat
     
  9. Boo

    Boo Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Cornwall
    You can spend thousands and thousands of pounds on antivirus precautions but there is no secure defence against hackers.............Its like climbing a mountain that no one else can climb...........there is always someone willing to take on the task.

    There are 2 different kinds of hackers.....................Self gain and challenge hackers.

    1. Self gain hackers are the pits and want to gain finacially from it, i.e: money, bandwidth or memory (or w**kers as we know them) :Angry:

    2. Challenge hackers are a different breed all together, they will hack anything just to see if it can be done. They usually belong to private hacking forums and you can only get there by invite.

    if you want to get rid of any virus or addons then the best thing out there is called "Hijackthis"............but you really must read how to use it or you can really come unstuck.

    Challenge hackers are in and out of your computers all the time but don't worry, they will not harm you.............................I know..........I was that soldier :Blush:

    Hope this helps

    Boo
     
  10. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    That's like saying it's ok to break into peoples homes provided you don't steal anything

    Well, In my book they both equally despicable .. and when caught should hung up by the testes..
     
  11. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    2,107
    Location:
    Ipswich
    What are you worried about jim? mac's are hacker proof; aren't they? :BigGrin:

    Olley
     
  12. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
  13. Onderweg

    Onderweg Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    Vlissingen, Holland
    Hi,
    I dont know what you entered at the dos prompt so maybe this is not relevant for you if so sorry.

    If you open your Dos window again and, at the prompt, type -- netstat -p tcp -b -- it will also give the program which is using this port.

    If, for instance, you are a skype user and have skype open it will give a foreign computer which is required by skype
     
  14. Boo

    Boo Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Hence why I have a 2ft long sooty sack mate :Wink: .............. I learned my lesson after that :Smile:

    Boo
     
  15. davetthedon

    davetthedon Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malvern, Worcestershire
    I'm never getting married again................just gonna buy a house for some women who don't like me..........and just cut out the years of misery :thumb:

    I like the moto: Always astounds me why anyone would do it more than once (he says after 30 years happily hitched!)

    Anyway try this site Whois - IP Address - Domain Name Lookup it may give you a clue as to who's lookin' at you. My netstat "foreigners" point to the ISP Demon and Tiscali. But then I'm not neurotic about who sees what as long as I can Google!!! If they want access to my porn then let 'em! :Rofl1: They probably need it.
    All the best
    DaveT
     
Loading...

Share This Page