help on wiring 240v switch to 12v wire.

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Welsh girl, Apr 10, 2015.

  1. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,744
    Likes Received:
    1,332
    Location:
    living the dream.
    We have bought an inline switch, for a household supply but was informed that we could use it to put in after an inline fuse from the leisure battery so that we can just switch off the inverter wired to the battery instead of removing the fuse every night.
    Every time the fuse is inserted it sparks and I'm a little worried that the battery will blow up as it is only around 12 inches away from the battery that is housed under the bed.
    The battery is normally used for the orthopedic electric beds( already fitted in van) but is used to power other things via an inverter as the electric function is hardly used for the beds.
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    30,102
    Likes Received:
    17,771
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    You could put it in the inverter feed wire but it would last milliseconds.

    230vac switches are generally rated at 10amps or less.

    ...your inverter could be needing 10 times or more than that amount of amps.

    To do it properly you need a heavy duty relay capable of 200 to 300 amps and a switch to control the relay.

    If the inverter is that close to the battery DONT keep removing and inserting the fuse.....the battery may be gassing and could ignite with a very big bang.
    Turn off the inverter at its own switch.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    6,481
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Yep & only about 2 amps switching DC.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    30,102
    Likes Received:
    17,771
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    How big is the inverter.?
     
  5. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,744
    Likes Received:
    1,332
    Location:
    living the dream.
    The inverter is 300 watts. Pure sine wave.
    The switch is rated at 6a, 250v.double pole.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,920
    Likes Received:
    1,944
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    • Like it Like it x 1
  7. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,744
    Likes Received:
    1,332
    Location:
    living the dream.
    We need to remove the inverter to use on the front leisure batteries that are charged via the solar panel and the engine when driving.
     
  8. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,936
    Likes Received:
    3,398
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Just use a 40amp automotive relay and any old switch to operate the relay. That's what i use on my little 500w inverter that just runs the washing machine.

    Edit, before anyone mentions it I do realise a 500w inverter can draw more than 40amp, but this is for a specific purpose and never draws more than 25a.
     
  9. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    30,102
    Likes Received:
    17,771
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Nope...300 watts at its full potential will draw 25 amps.

    25amps through a 6amp switch is asking for a fire.

    75 watts will be the switches absolute limit
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  10. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,744
    Likes Received:
    1,332
    Location:
    living the dream.
    Thanks for the replies. I'll get another switch or an isolator.
    Definitely glad I asked.
    Thanks again guys.
    Saved our bacon, literally! !!
     
  11. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    6,481
    Location:
    West Sussex
    No it's not that is the AC rating the DC rating will be about 1 amp.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
Loading...

Share This Page