Help needed

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Gunner29, Feb 6, 2014.

  1. Gunner29

    Gunner29 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    612
    Location:
    Plymouth
    I can only use my mouse to move around the screen but when I disconnect it I cannot move the arrow using my finger etc.
    What programme do I need to access to rectify this
    Keep it as simple as possible as I ain't that good on PC's
     
  2. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,246
    Likes Received:
    5,197
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    I think you need to switch on your finger pad, on mine there is a button in the black bar just above the pad

    Peter
     
  3. Gunner29

    Gunner29 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    612
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Thanks

    Don't seem to have the little button you mention !!
     
  4. irnbru

    irnbru Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    5,311
    Likes Received:
    9,588
    Location:
    Glasgow
    It might be on the side, try all your buttons.
     
  5. acting_strange

    acting_strange

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,398
    Likes Received:
    2,568
    Location:
    North Hykeham
    What machine have you got as they are all different
     
  6. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,199
    Likes Received:
    9,579
    Location:
    Dorset
    if theres no button, then it will be controlled by software. look in control panel for synaptic pointing device and check its not disabled when mouse present
     
  7. thraxugrut

    thraxugrut Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Irlam, Manchester
    often there is a function key, typically labelled Fn which if depressed when certain other keys are pressed can enable and disable certain functions, like your trackpad.

    Try looking at the keyboard for something that looks like there is a picture of your mousepad, maybe in a blue colour and clicking it.

    Perhaps take a picture of your keyboard, or tell us the model of your laptop so we can have a look. it might help.

    of course I'm assuming you don't have a touch screen device here, which could be some other issue entirely.

    cheers,
    mark
     
  8. sleep e carr

    sleep e carr

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Whitby North Yorkshire
    Try Control and F5 at same time see if this helps
     
  9. Gunner29

    Gunner29 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    612
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Thanks guys got it back ""Fn"" and key like a pad mouse. Wiffee likes the mouse but I don't
     
  10. steevie

    steevie Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    269
    Location:
    Holmfirth
    Glad you are sorted, but for anyone else having similar problems, synaptec, who do many of the finger pads, famously use F5 to pick mouse or pad. Sometimes they will work on each others settings, but keep freezing up, but are cured the same way.
     
  11. Puddleduck

    Puddleduck Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    6,456
    Likes Received:
    13,749
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Fn+F9 on my Advent and Fn+F4 on the hp laptop. They are all different.
     
Loading...

Share This Page