Help needed Mifi 3

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by motor roamin, Jul 28, 2012.

  1. motor roamin

    motor roamin Funster

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535
    Likes Received:
    785
    Location:
    Leicester
    Hi Guys need a bit of help

    I have a Mifi 3 can't seem to set the smtp for e-mails as this is one of the main reasons I bought it could do with it working have rang 3 about as much use as a chocolate fireguard :RollEyes:

    All the best Rick
     
  2. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    Hi Rick,

    the o/g smtp server is smtp-mbb.three.co.uk

    Hope this helps

    Lunarman
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. motor roamin

    motor roamin Funster

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535
    Likes Received:
    785
    Location:
    Leicester
    Thanks thats what I have done can receive email but can not send whe have changed the ports tried all 4 :Doh:

    All the best Rick
     
  4. SuperMike

    SuperMike Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    1,019
    Location:
    St Albans
    Dear StickyRicky, with ours, we had to set up nothing. Turned it on logged on and away it went. Simplistic I know, but perhaps it's faulty !!!!! :Smile:
     
  5. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    Have just checked my set up

    the smtp server is smtp-mbb.three.co.uk as I said, the authentification is NOT required and the port is 25.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. motor roamin

    motor roamin Funster

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535
    Likes Received:
    785
    Location:
    Leicester
    Forgive me for being thick but it took me 20 years to understand my calculator :Rofl1: I am not on web mail are you guys ?

    All the best Rick
     
  7. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    No I use windows mail client on my laptop
     
  8. Gooney

    Gooney Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,758
    Likes Received:
    7,772
    Location:
    Flintshire
    Hi Rick, I took mine out of the box fitted the sim, battery and typed in the password, away it went:thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. motor roamin

    motor roamin Funster

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535
    Likes Received:
    785
    Location:
    Leicester
    Hi Goony thanks for that.......mine did that for tinternet and it appears that if you are using web based mail it will also work out the box

    I have searched tinternet and this seems to be a common fault but no one has given the solution without buying more web hosting from another company

    All the best Rick
     
  10. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    What mail service are you using. Are you using a client on your pc?
     
  11. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    Just another thought.

    If you are using a mail client e.g. windows mail, and are setting up a new account for the MiFi dont forget you will either have to set this account as "default" when you are connected via the Mifi or use the "send using" facility on the new email.

    If you don't do this it will try to send using your existing Default account which of course will fail
     
  12. motor roamin

    motor roamin Funster

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535
    Likes Received:
    785
    Location:
    Leicester
    I have managed to get working on the lappy (I have no idea how :Rofl1:) now I am playing with the I pad see if I can get that working :RollEyes:

    All the best Rick
     
  13. Gooney

    Gooney Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,758
    Likes Received:
    7,772
    Location:
    Flintshire
    Hi Rick
    Mine is operating on the iPad, just switch your mi fi on, go into settings on the pad, the mi fi address should be there and type in password:thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page