Help Needed and Quick!!! (1 Viewer)

pelliott1954

Free Member
Sep 16, 2010
Funster No
Hi All,

Was supposed to be going away for the first time this year tomorrow, went to fill the water tanks, which filled ok but can't get any water from the taps, just spluttering!!!!

The MH is a Autotrail 635SE Cheyenne, 2007 and only done 5k so not had much use.

I am a newbie and have only used the MH once before last November so not too good at troubleshooting.

I have checked the strainer on the pump, that is clean, I have the dump valve in the system laying flat and closed.

As soon as I swich the pump on at the switch over thr door it starts pumping even when tap is closed, I would expect that to happen for a very short time only whilst it pressurises the system, but, nothing happens and the pump keeps running which is a bit worrying as it seems to be dry.

When I first took the strainer bowl off it had water in it, then I decided to have another look to make sure I had seated it right and it wasn't sucking air I found it bone dry, so to me no water is getting as far as the pump!!!

I phoned Brownhills and they asked me to check the outlet pipe from the dumpvalve to see if that was sucking air in, as if the valve was stuck open but it wasn't, then they got me to unscrew the strainer again, with the pump on and a tap open and put my palm over the hole where the strainer goes to see if there was suction, there was some but not much and definitely no water!!!

Tomorrows break is looking unlikely, can anyone offer any advice, Brownhills are no saying it sounds as if the pump diaphrams are possibly gone or blocked with something.

If anyone fancies giving me a call I can add my phone number

Regards Paul

Geo

Trader - Funster
Jul 29, 2007
Mansfield,Notts
Funster No
MH
Autotrail Tracker FB
Exp
45 +years with breaks
crude but effective
Try sucking on an open tap to assist the pump
once air is out thye system all may be well enough
Geo

Oct 15, 2007
Five Roads Alyth
Funster No
MH