Help keep losing connection

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Forestboy, Dec 8, 2014.

  1. Forestboy

    Forestboy Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    5,130
    Likes Received:
    8,355
    Location:
    Forest of Dean
    Any ideas ?
    Everytime the phone rings and is answered or we make a call we lose our internet connection. Then have to wait until call ends to reconnect, bloody frustrating.
    Haven't rung Sky as the last time I had a problem it took 4 months to fix and last time I had a BT problem it was 2 years and never got fixed. Would rather not expose my self to the stress of speaking to them unless absolutely necessary as I'm guaranteed to get wound up.
     
  2. Borderland

    Borderland Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    2,508
    Location:
    Borders
    Have you tried a new micro filter. I had the same problem a while back and a new filter sorted it out.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. Forestboy

    Forestboy Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    5,130
    Likes Received:
    8,355
    Location:
    Forest of Dean
    Thanks
    No is that the little white box that goes in the phone plug ?
     
  4. Borderland

    Borderland Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    2,508
    Location:
    Borders
    Yes, that is it.
     
  5. Forestboy

    Forestboy Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    5,130
    Likes Received:
    8,355
    Location:
    Forest of Dean
    Thanks I'll walk up town now and get one and try it. (y)
     
  6. Borderland

    Borderland Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    2,508
    Location:
    Borders
    No guarantee that will fix it. May be worth waiting to see if anyone else has other thoughts about what it could be.
     
  7. SandJ

    SandJ Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    558
    Location:
    North Yorks
    The same thing has just started happening with us on Bt changed micro filter still happens with us
    It is since they have got fibre optic to village
    The broadband goes off and on regular as well but only for seconds
    Is it a ploy to make us change to fibre optic?
    I hope there is a fix
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  8. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    27,723
    Likes Received:
    26,814
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Micro filter or have you plugged a phone into a socket before the micro filter ?

    You really need.....

    Incoming line---------->Master Socket--->MicroFilter.

    Then

    All Phones<-----------------------------------MicroFilter--->Broadband Router.

    In other words the broadband router is plugged in right next to the master socket via the filter. Do not have the router on any form of extension.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  9. mjltigger

    mjltigger Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,574
    Likes Received:
    2,573
    Location:
    Trowbridge
    Sounds like microfilter to me... I know it's BT bull but really try unplugging everything and starting from scratch.. if you have more then one filter try each one in turn with nothing else except the broadband and a single phone connected..
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  10. Bailey58

    Bailey58 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6,699
    Likes Received:
    10,394
    Location:
    Norfolk and Toftir.
    Found Sky very helpful if long winded the couple of times I had problems. We did have a line fault up the road a year or so back when they sent a BT engineer out and he was very good, sorted that first, tested everything and fitted a new master socket which needed no filter, bypassed the old junction box in the loft to cut out more problems. Never been so good until I had connection problems with my printer a month ago and b******d up my internet connection by trying to input the printer ISP address. Two hours on the phone to get it back up.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  11. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,451
    Likes Received:
    7,552
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    I had a similar problem last year .... numerous calls to BT & they kept saying the problem was in my home and not their line so it would cost me £99 for an engineer. Eventually, having disconnected all phones and computers in the house except one pc plugged directly into their test socket (behind the master socket) I proved the problem was outside. They then agreed to send someone but it would most likely cost me ..... it took three separate engineers and visits to sort the problem although they all agreed it was a fault in their line at different points up the road. The last one finally checked and found they had originally brought the line into the house using "indoor" cable which had corroded inside.
    The whole thing was a total nightmare as they will not accept responsability and treat all customers as morons.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  12. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    30,252
    Likes Received:
    17,924
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    As said....try them all in turn.

    Every phone outlet in the house MUST have a filter and the one the modem is plugged into isnt neccessarily the one at fault.
     
  13. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,451
    Likes Received:
    7,552
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Not always the case John, when the engineer came to fix my fault he replaced the master socket with one that eliminates the use of micro filters anywhere else in the house .... much better and tidier.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  14. Badknee

    Badknee Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    17,171
    Location:
    notloB
    I must say we are so pleased to be on cable, so many horror stories from BT and Sky users. We have even unplugged our land line because of cold callers, if anyone wants us our mobiles are always switched on.
    Our eldest lad has just got a place of his own and is also having a nightmare with BT or whatever they are called this week.
    Good luck with your problem and hope for a quick fix for you.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  15. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    30,252
    Likes Received:
    17,924
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Havent heard of that....but i do believe you.
    i guess it depends when it was installed....our have been in years.
     
  16. Bailey58

    Bailey58 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6,699
    Likes Received:
    10,394
    Location:
    Norfolk and Toftir.
    Like wot I said, no filters for me any more. :)
     
  17. Forestboy

    Forestboy Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    5,130
    Likes Received:
    8,355
    Location:
    Forest of Dean
    Fixed thanks guys (y)

    2 new filters £5.00 each job done

    Microfilter fitted to router and phone as on different sides of room.

    Better than having to speak to Sky
     
    • Like it Like it x 3
  18. SandJ

    SandJ Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    558
    Location:
    North Yorks
    As it worked for you I've just tried another filter and so far so good so two filters must be faulty but it seems to be fixed
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  19. Peter & Elaine

    Peter & Elaine Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,033
    Likes Received:
    6,554
    Location:
    Roobarb land
    We had our done same way it works a treat :)
    Before we had nothing but trouble with micro filters :cry:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  20. Greenway

    Greenway Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    147
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Wild boar;)
     
Loading...

Share This Page