HELP !!! Fon unit arrived but am absolutely stuck !!

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Jaws, Jun 26, 2014.

  1. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,347
    Likes Received:
    21,705
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Plug it in, all the lights do the right things.. I can connect to it ok
    But
    I want to configure it how I want it.. ( change the password etc )

    I have tried accessing it from my main computer ( http://198.162.10.1 ) and via my iPad and Android fone.

    Tried downloading the app and it says not available in the UK :-(

    frustration now kicking in big time..
    I SHOULD know how to do this but I admit it has me beat :Sad:
     
  2. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,347
    Likes Received:
    21,705
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Update ( already ! )
    Managed to download the android app ok and now changed the password

    So...

    I am out in the wilds and find a Fon hotspot.. I want to connect to it using my iPad and via my iBoost system

    What is the procedure ?
     
  3. Leftlegger

    Leftlegger Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    N.somerset
    just clicked on your link,it didn,t work.
    try just 192.168.10.1 ,leaving out http:// that worked for me
     
  4. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    7,111
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Log onto the Fon hotspot with your I Boost using your fon password and then just log your ipad on to the Motorhome wifi (iBoost) should do the job.
     
  5. Leftlegger

    Leftlegger Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    N.somerset
    just connect to a fon spot using your email address and password you used to setup the fonera,try logging onto fon.com using this same username/password to test it works ok.it should show your fonera box is online ,if it is.
    BTW you dont need this connected permanently to connect to a fon hotspot,i,ve had mine offline for a while now,just plugged it in to test the ip address.
     
  6. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,485
    Likes Received:
    4,741
    Location:
    Guisborough
    You need to register your fon and set up the username (e-mail) and password you are using, you cant use it until registered.

    Then switch on i-boost and log in as a wifi spot, then go into the set up page via 10.20.30.40 and scan for wifi signal, pick the best signal that is BT Fon or SFR fon etc and log into this with your Fon username and password.

    Its all in the instructions are with the iboost and if you have any problems with Fon I have found they are quite good at answering and sorting stuff out.

    This is not comprehensive instruction but just to give you the drift.

    Martin
     
  7. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,347
    Likes Received:
    21,705
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Cheers Martin.. been using the iBoost for a while now ( great bit of kit ! ) it was just the other half.. The Fon bit.

    Thanks to everyones input I think I have it all working now !
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. timdownieuk

    timdownieuk Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    326
    Location:
    Ayr
    Which I believe breaks the terms and conditions. Morally it's totally wrong too. I believe that they do periodically "ping" your FON unit to ensure that freeloaders aren't trying to get something for nothing. You may have got away with it up till now but you're taking a chance (and a liberty).

    Tim
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. Leftlegger

    Leftlegger Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    N.somerset
    sorry to upset yet another forum "expert" but what i do with my own equipment is my own business,certainly fon know by the mac address weather its online or not ,weather or not they police it is another matter and between me and fon.
     
  10. timdownieuk

    timdownieuk Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    326
    Location:
    Ayr
    Seriously, where do you think FON wifi access comes from? Fairies?. No, in this country it's BT internet customers and Fonera users who knowingly or unknowingly, willingly or or unwillingly but most certainly CONTRACTUALLY provide a share of their bandwidth to create a widespread wifi network available to others.

    If we were all like you where would these FON access points be? Sure, do what you like with your kit but you're taking without giving and that's wrong.

    Tim
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. Leftlegger

    Leftlegger Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    N.somerset
    so all the bt fon users from bt dont turn turn their internet off ?
    you.re havin a laugh.
     
  12. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,485
    Likes Received:
    4,741
    Location:
    Guisborough
    I leave mine on, thats how the system works:Wink:

    Martin
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2014
  13. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    7,740
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Don't understand this not bothered what anyone else does but my internet has never been switched off, why would it be:Doh:
     
  14. Wildbill

    Wildbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    7,082
    Likes Received:
    12,078
    Location:
    Goole funster top up and elsan point
  15. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    7,111
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Now that's not fair .......

    .................... those poor piranhas :Wink:
     
  16. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,347
    Likes Received:
    21,705
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Mine is on all the time anyway.. has to be for other reasons.

    But actually it is not wrong.. Having actually read the terms and conditions it can be interpreted that you have to leave it on but not doing so does not break the contract you enter in to..

    Mind you, a bit unsure why you would turn it off.. Not exactly a big power user ( A quick work out .. About .7p a week )
     
  17. Bebe

    Bebe

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    Spain/East Yorkshire, Uk
    Think I'll join you. I don't understand any of it and even if I did think I knew what people meant, it turns out I don't :Eeek:
     
  18. Allanm

    Allanm Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    3,044
    Likes Received:
    4,112
    Location:
    Cotes d'armor, France
    When we moved to our new house we had no internet, no BT phone and almost no 3g or mobile phone signal. We are one of 3 houses at the end of a lane, next nearest house is 1/2 mile away. I joined BT and had to wait a month for connection. BT told me I could use BT wifi for free, till my line was connected. I also had a Fon unit from my other house and used Fon extensively while in France..
    No chance using either here, I thought, but incredibly, my neighbour is on BT so I was able to use his wifi to get online using my new BT account and my existing Fon account
    A lifesaver, albeit, quite slow.
    Fon and BT are providing a global wifi network offering access sharing to members for free and paying access for others.
    Fon states....As a member of the Fon community, you agree to share a little bit of your WiFi at home, and get free roaming at Fon Spots worldwide in return. Sharing WiFi with Fon is safe and secure, and you won’t even notice when others are connected because Fon only uses a tiny portion of your bandwidth.

    I agree, you can do what you like with yours, but I am sharing mine, even though my broadband speed is a miserly 1.5mb max ( We are 8 miles from the nearest exchange) , as I agreed when I bought the Fon unit.
    That way, more people get access to free wifi all over the place.
    I'm doing my bit!

    Allan
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,448
    Likes Received:
    25,133
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    >>> HELP !!! Fon unit arrived but am absolutely stuck !!

    How very sad.

    Yet it is happening to all of us.

    Well I say "us" but of course that of course does not include me.

    I have yet to indulge in senile decline, being sober, God fearing and vegetarian.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  20. timdownieuk

    timdownieuk Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    326
    Location:
    Ayr
    What people do or don't do has no bearing on the obligation that they are under according to the terms and conditions.

    More info here.

    https://www.btfon.com/images/media/en/en_general_conditions.pdf

    Tim
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page