HELP! Dometic Fridge Problem

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by OldWomble, May 29, 2016.

  1. OldWomble

    OldWomble Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Hi all
    we are just about to go away for a few weeks and the fridge won't turn on - has anyone else had this problem? or any ideas what we can do? Due at the tunnel tomorrow pm but can't go 5 weeks without a fridge!!!
     
  2. PhilandMena

    PhilandMena Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    3,636
    Location:
    Corby, Northants
    Not had this problem before. Just make sure you are hooked up, lecce is on hold the on switch in for a while!
     
  3. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,222
    Likes Received:
    9,602
    Location:
    Dorset
    have you got a 12v supply to the fridge? nothing else works if 12v is off. check by seeing if the lamp lights when opening the fridge door
     
  4. OldWomble

    OldWomble Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    West Sussex
    No lamp on but there is a supply (12v) to the back of the fridge. The fuse is ok so any other ideas? Cant get hold of a Dometic engineer until after we are due to leave
     
  5. Dorset Diver

    Dorset Diver Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Somerset
    Might help if you gave more detail. What fridge? Will it just not go at all? Have you tried it on mains, gas, and 12v?
     
  6. Clarky

    Clarky Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    1,174
    Location:
    Suffolk or France or ........
    Is this a newish fridge?
    Our almost new fridge/freezer packed up on the hottest day of one trip last year and in the most remote aire we stayed at.
    It was a ribbon cable (like a computer cable) that runs down the back and hadn't been firmly pushed into the socket at the bottom to lock it into place, presumably in manufacture. It had wriggled free as we travelled.
    It seemed to control everything as everything refused to work until it was pushed back into the socket, with huge difficulty due to the poor access.

    Hope you get it sorted.

    Richard.
     
  7. Stonemags76

    Stonemags76 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Derbyshire Dales
    Are you level? Ours won't work on our drive! Took me ages to work out why!
     
  8. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,222
    Likes Received:
    9,602
    Location:
    Dorset
    can @Johns_Cross_Motorhomes not get you in quicker?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes Received:
    5,198
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    Unfortunately the workshop is closed on Monday as its a Bank Holiday otherwise I am sure Glenn would olblige

    Peter
     
  10. Dorset Diver

    Dorset Diver Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Somerset
    Just a bit of reassurance. They do have good engineers across the water and whilst it is not ideal you could go and get it fixed in France.
     
  11. OldWomble

    OldWomble Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Just had a Dometic engineer ring me back and taken some details. Hopefully he will have a new PCB in stock.
    S & G Caravan Services from Worthing area. Lets hope he's got the bits - brilliant service if he has!!!
     
  12. CWH

    CWH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2,701
    Likes Received:
    10,168
    Location:
    under a wand'rin' star
    With ours, it was the motherboard behind the top front panel.
    We were away when it stopped working, had lots of ideas from Funsters & tried 'em all; in the end Him Indoors got frustrated & tried to lever the strip off and - hey presto! - it started up again (phew!) Must have pressed something significant back into place.
    Got it properly fixed after we got home though.
     
  13. OldWomble

    OldWomble Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Hi CWH

    Yup just found the same thing. Had all the panels and covers off and found we had power to the top panel but would not switch on. Had a good wriggle of all the connections and then shorted across the switch and, hey presto, on it came. So off we go and we will get it fixed as soon as we get back by S & G who has been fantastic!

    Thanks all for all your responses and ideas.
     
    • Like Like x 6
  14. Rob Turner

    Rob Turner Funster

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Wem Shropshire
    Don't you just love the forum!
     
    • Like Like x 2
Loading...

Share This Page