HELP!! access to some websites

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Phill D, May 5, 2013.

  1. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
  2. MJG2001

    MJG2001 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Saltburn
    all I get when I click on those links are genuine Google and YouTube pages.

    Google change their home page occasionally to reflect special days or birthdays of famous/significant people -

    that particular one is to mark the birthday of Søren Kierkegaard who apparently was a philosopher.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    thanks Martin i suspect then that there is something redirecting my search pages.

    Phill
     
  4. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    heres a screen shot of what comes up

    this is what i get when i put in any search engine or youtube.

    it asks me to click the green button to confirm i am " human" ( no puns please"! )

    not seen this before but cant get rid of it when trying to search the web:Eeek:
     

    Attached Files:

  5. ukbill

    ukbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,897
    Likes Received:
    4,862
    Location:
    benidorm
    try to reboot the pc i wouldnt recommend you put the catcha in for the human test just yet reboot 1st see if it disappears what operating system do you have and have you done a scan including a spyware scan ?
     
  6. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    hi bill, have done all the normal stuff, like reboot, simple virus scan etc. i am on windows 7, and using google chrome.

    might switch to firefox and see what happens, unless one of you wise men can come up with a solution. thanks.
     
  7. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,939
    Likes Received:
    13,996
    Location:
    UK
    Something smells iffy about that....

    Can you get to any other website? Have you tried a different web browser?

    If it happens across multiple browsers then it is either your ISP or your computer may be infected.

    If it happens in just one browser but all the others are ok then it is likely to be an infection also.

    I need to pop out for a bit but when I get back if you haven't sorted it I will look into it for you.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    thanks GROMETT I WILL KEEP TRYING. at moment its google, yahoo, ask, yotube. i can get ebay and many others.
     
  9. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    any help you can give would be super :thumb::thumb:
     
  10. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    running a full system scan now as only run a short scan earlier. lets see what that brings up.:Doh:
     
  11. MJG2001

    MJG2001 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Saltburn
    if I am understanding your posts correctly this sounds like a classic hi-jacking of your default search engine by malware or adware OR some download has altered your search engine using an extension or add on for Chrome and/or Firefox.

    If you look in extensions or add ons to your browsers you may discover something you were not expecting, als look in control panel for any unusual programs that have installed.

    If it's not in your extensions or add ons install and have a scan with

    Malwarebites as something may have slipped passed your anti virus.

    http://www.malwarebytes.org/
     
  12. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    thanks again Martin, it certainly is confined to this pc as i have no probs with acces with my other pc through the same router and isp.

    nothing unusual in control panel that i can see. i wiull look in chrome extension 9 i think i know how ):Doh:
    just waiting the final full scan to complete
     
  13. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    nothing in Chrome extensions either:cry:
     
  14. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    hi Martin i was very rude and did not welcome you to fun, it shows your already in the groove:thumb:
     
  15. MJG2001

    MJG2001 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Saltburn
    no worries...
     
  16. MJG2001

    MJG2001 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Saltburn
    What are your search engines set as?

    Settings > Search

    Also have a look at which search engines are default and available.

    settings > Search > manage search engines

    MORE - also look at what start-up page is set.

    settings > On start up > Open a specific page or set of pages. Set pages
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2013
  17. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    well ive run all the scans including the download and run from

    http://www.malwarebytes.org/

    it detected 1 item backdoor,agent.dc in a minecraft file he downloaded. thats been removed but i still cant get to google search and other search sites:Doh::Doh:

    he's all of 10yrs old and now banned from my laptop:Blush:

    still working on a fix:Eeek:
     
  18. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,939
    Likes Received:
    13,996
    Location:
    UK
    Have you tried a different browser?

    This would be the first thing I would check to ensure you don't have a single browser infection...
     
  19. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    hi gromett tried Firefox and have the same issue i have googled for solutions from my tablet but not getting very far at the moment.

    some guy has suggested going into

    c:windows\system32\drivers\etc and checking for alterations.... mine is a 64 bit system and i am affriad i will delete something important and kill it all together :Eeek:
     
  20. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    i ahve gone and looked in divers\etc and there is a filke that was added yesterday called hosts about 11kb . all other files in there are 2009 dates.
    could that be it?
     
Loading...

Share This Page