Euphony

Free Member
Nov 9, 2016
Perthshire
Funster No
MH
B Class
Exp
3 years of weekending with the odd month here and there.
Hi all,
I'm an absolute beginner with Bessacarr E560 and we're (the boss and I) travelling to see our daughter for Christmas on South Uist as she's just moved there. Can any of you experienced funsters please tell me if there's anything specific that I should know/do about travelling on a ferry please?
All help gratefully received.
Thanks in advance.

Feb 24, 2013
Bolsover, Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer S800
Exp
not long enough
Lucky you having a brilliant excuse to keep going out there, just about my favourite part of the world, although Harris is my real favourite

As for the crossing, never done one in December / January, could be delayed or rough, I would suggest using Uig (Skye) to North Uist for shortest route

Nice loading ramps at both ends, minimal risk of grounding, but just go slowly, they will not rush you and will usually stop you and come to your aid if there is an issue with grounding or space, never yet met an unhelpful Calmac crew (y)

Have a great time :)

Upvote 0
OP
OP
Euphony

Euphony

Free Member
Nov 9, 2016
Perthshire
Funster No
MH
B Class
Exp
Hi, thanks for the info, we've already booked the Uig-Lochmaddy ferry as it is, as you say, the shortest crossing and I'm not great on boats.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
Feb 9, 2008
SW Scotland
Funster No
MH
LP Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2008 after caravanning for 20 years
We too have an E560 and spent three weeks in the Hebrides earlier this year. No problems on any of the ferries, there are so many motorhomes heading out there now they're well used to them. Mind you a lot of the ferries are off today as they are experiencing a gale up there just now.

Upvote 0

CWH

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 29, 2014
UK
Funster No
MH
WildAx PVC
Exp
From November 2013
anything specific that I should know/do about travelling on a ferry