Heating when camper has been winterised? (1 Viewer)

Feb 6, 2013
Mirfield West Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Swift Bolero 680FB
Exp
Since 2012
Hello all, I am new to motorhoming and this is my first winter. I did not know that my camper would automatically dump water, so I did it manually and I am now hoping I have not made any drastic/costly mistakes. My query is (and apologies for sounding dumb) how do I heat my van when I take it out in the winter? It has a Truma Combi boiler system. Recently I was in a campsite in Gretna and I selected electric for heating but it only blew out cold air. I was not sure if I should select gas (I have onboard LPG - not bottles). I am not bothered about hot water as I use camp site facilities at the moment. I would be most grateful for any help and advice you can give me.

Thank you

Wickolad

Free Member
Sep 10, 2013
Wickersley
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Newbie to MH, 20yrs+ Caravanning.
Hi, not sure if the combi boiler is the same principle as my system but here goes. When on ehu if using electric heater it is no where near as efficient as the gas heating, particularly if you are using blown air heating. The best way if its cold weather is to use the gas heater, if its extremely cold use gas and electric simultaneously.
Just one other thing to check though is that the heater is actually turned on. Besides the heater controls above my hab door, there is also a switched spur power switch in a cupboard adjacent to the heater that needs to be turned on. The blower side is 12v so does not mean that the heater is getting 240v ac power. Come back to forum if problem not solved, Lance

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
I dont have experience of your boiler but two things spring to mind.....

Either it needs water even though you only want warm air (it may extract heat from the hot water) or the electric heating element has failed.