Free Member
Feb 12, 2014
Lanarkshire
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Guys I'm in the middle of a exercise programs to get fit and reduce weight as most of the gym equipment are not accurate regarding calorie and heart rate it was suggested that I should get a heart rate monitor has anyone had any experience of them and what makes

Thanks

Oct 28, 2013
Lincoln
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
Guys I'm in the middle of a exercise programs to get fit and reduce weight as most of the gym equipment are not accurate regarding calorie and heart rate it was suggested that I should get a heart rate monitor has anyone had any experience of them and what makes

Thanks
Get yourself a Polar Chest Strap with the wristwatch style monitor.
They're compatible with Life Fitness kit at the gym and probably other makes too.
The basic set is around £20 I think but then I have had mine for a number of years so they may be dearer now.
Good gear IMO.

Garmin also do some quality kit now too in that line.

Last edited:
OP
OP
Gauntlet

Gauntlet

Free Member
Feb 12, 2014
Lanarkshire
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
They're compatible with Life Fitness kit at the gym and probably other makes too.
The basic set is around £20 I think but then I have had mine for a number of years so they may be dearer now.
Good gear IMO.

Thanks I herd good things about Polar I really want to check the calories burn I think a visit to my local Decathlon store is on as they stock the Polar brand

Thanks

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jul 29, 2011
Urmston, Manchester
Funster No
MH
Former owner.
Exp
June 2012
Good gear IMO.

I have just wore one of the polar chest straps whilst using the chester step as part of my offshore medical.
At the end of the step sequence, which is basically to step on and off to a beat which gets faster every 2 minutes, they gave me the score.
For my age group above 40 is excellent and i scored 48.:Cool: