Hauppauge WinTv usb dongle not working

Discussion in 'Computers' started by sueandjohn, Jul 23, 2016.

  1. sueandjohn

    sueandjohn Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    lake district
    help.....
    i have just bought usb dongle from hauppauge called wintv dual hd

    I cannot download any channels at all even though I am at home using my very good roof mounted aerial

    has anyone any experience or any ideas please.
     
  2. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,881
    Likes Received:
    2,701
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    I assume you mean you're not receiving anything - it isn't a download device. Have you tried to autotune?
     
  3. sueandjohn

    sueandjohn Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    lake district
    Sorry, bad choice of words. I have installed the software and the next step is to scan for channels and it doesn't find any, not even radio channels. We have a good aerial connected.
     
  4. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,881
    Likes Received:
    2,701
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    It's a while since I used a Hauppage tuner (I have one inside the PC for satellite but no driver for W10) but from what I remember the software has to find the tuner & connect to it then you do the channel scan. Not much help really I know - have you tried a Google search? There may be some help out there.

    If you're using the usual caravan aerial you have switched it on?

    If you are using the van aerial why not try it out on a proven good signal - your home aerial.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  5. sueandjohn

    sueandjohn Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    lake district
    Thanks tony. Panic over . Uninstalled and started again.all ok now. Phew
     

Share This Page