had to have a look - transformer

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by slobadoberbob, May 5, 2012.

  1. slobadoberbob

    slobadoberbob Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Kent, garden of England
    Well I had to have a look in side the lid... well I did not as I cannot stand long enough to have a nose... but a friend had his 15 year old take the camera and snap away at the wiring, plugs and transform under the cupboard... boy there is some wires. no bunted bits and when he put my meter on it we have 230v and 120v .... and the trip has not gone again.. but still no 230v to any plugs and the Sterling works on 120v/110v but will not allow me to use the inverter with the batteries .. just battery charging side.

    Anyway... off to see the expert:thumb: on Thursday ... Eddie at VanBitz... so I am hopeful that if I buy the bacon sandwiches he will get the boys to see if they can sort it so we can go to Newbury.. which is in doubt if we cannot get some mains working as we need to recharge the scooters.. Anyway fingers crossed.

    Bob:thumb:
     
  2. aba

    aba

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,793
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Location:
    yorkshire
    i wonder if it could be a loose neutral connector somewhere that has been connecting / not intermittently as this would also answer why you have no 230v elsewhere as its currently not connecting.

    maybe borrow the small child again and get him to wiggle some of the connections and see if it trips again.
     
  3. slobadoberbob

    slobadoberbob Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Kent, garden of England
    he has wiggled a lot today

    I had him wiggle lots of wires and push lots of connectors on harder...... I took the plug down that Sue had put the hoover in .. and checked the wires to make sure nothing was loose.. The area where the transformer looks a nightmare.. but can locate the RCD plugs and trace the wires back to the transformer - took the lid off and put the multimeter on the top connections and there is 230v to one and 120v to the other so there is power in OK and the transformer hums as normal.. the 110/120v side works fine on the appliances but it just seems to end at the RCD switch which is not closing now.. but still no power the the plugs... Plus the sterling seems to be OK according to the fault charts.. and if I connect mains and disconnect it switches from charge mode to Inverter.. but no power goes from the batteries to the 230v sockets. Baffled. But I am hopeful that Eddie at VanBitz will apply his extensive knowledge to the issue on Thursday and get me back on the road.

    Puts Newbury in doubt for us as no 230v no charge on the scooters and that means we are unable to do anything...

    Bob
     
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,443
    Likes Received:
    16,873
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Failed RCD in the fuse box.

    if all incoming and outgoing wires are tight and secure and 230v is getting to the RCD but nothing coming of it then theres no doubt !
     
  5. slobadoberbob

    slobadoberbob Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Kent, garden of England
    failed RCD

    Funny my thoughts as well.. I am not an electrician .. but given that there is power flowing to the transformer and the next place it can go is the RCD ... which is a stand alone type I was wondering myself if the unit was iffy... it is now open and staying open but no power to the sockets... may well be worth thinking about that.. may get one and take it with me to VanBitz in case they do not have one ... we have a screwfix round the corner...

    But thank you John for thinking about it.

    Bob
     
  6. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,443
    Likes Received:
    16,873
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    if the internal contacts are burnt they may still close as they should but are held 'open' by any deposits burnt to them.

    you will need the make and size (amps)...... or remove it (after disconnecting the hookup AND inverter of course) and take as a pattern if you can

    usually two screws at the top for the input live and neutral wires and two screws at the bottom for the outputs.....live to the brass busbar and neutral to the neutral bar
     
  7. Wizbangs

    Wizbangs

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    200
    Location:
    MK, UK
    Hubby says can you swap an RCD from another circuit. If none available, pull faulty one out and test it with the meter set to ohms. Measure the toggle switch on and off. If the meter doesn't move, its open circuit and needs replacing, or you may be able to open the case and sand paper the contacts. If rcd wont reset mechanically, then there is an electrical fault. Take duff one to B&Q or Maplins as a copy.
    Mary & John.
     
  8. slobadoberbob

    slobadoberbob Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Kent, garden of England
    it is a stand alone unit

    Hi Mary and John

    P.M. noted thanks... this is a single stand alone RCD unit.. in it's own box in the area of the massive wiring complex... first it would trip if the mains was connected now it sets and does not trip... but there is no power to the 230 sockets...

    I am going to VanBitz on Thursday for some alarm work and Eddie has said he will get his boys to have a look... I am going to get Sue to take a photo tomorrow so I can get the details to match it with another if need be... I need to check the power of the RCD ... like for like.. plenty of room to mount a replacement. ...

    Thanks for the help.
    Bob
     
  9. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,205
    Likes Received:
    9,587
    Location:
    Dorset
    is the transformer not powered from the RCD in the van then?
     
  10. smudger

    smudger Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    ireland
    hi bob, come an talk to me nx time we are at a meet , i got a gismo fitted si dont even use my genny to charge my chair and i dont need ehu. i jus do it as normal overnite or when i,m driving......:Smile:
     
  11. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,910
    Likes Received:
    13,938
    Location:
    UK
    Smudger's Back :BigGrin::BigGrin::BigGrin::BigGrin:

    Not seen you on in ages. How are you?
     
  12. Wizbangs

    Wizbangs

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    200
    Location:
    MK, UK
    Gismo

    Can you tell us more about the gismo please?
     
  13. slobadoberbob

    slobadoberbob Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Kent, garden of England
    it looks as if it is after the transformer

    The RCD is after the transformer as the 110v is working fine and the 230v are at the transformer OK as it is stepping down fine... the RCD is after the transformer ... there is an additional RCD that if that is switched off kills the transformer ... plus of course there is one that shuts down the 12v side as well.

    Bob
     
  14. slobadoberbob

    slobadoberbob Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Kent, garden of England
    Hi Derek

    Hi Derek,

    I take it the gismo is a 12v step up to 24v ... as I am sure your power chair is like mine in that it uses 24a batteries (mine power chair has that and also both the scooters).

    Your Winnie has a much bigger power bank than mine (200 amps total) so I would need a big unit to get the 8 amps I need for one scooter and 5 amps for the other...

    But yes I will have nose if I may... thanks for the invite to see.

    Missed your posts Derek.

    Regards

    Bob
     
  15. slobadoberbob

    slobadoberbob Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Kent, garden of England
    Thank you John ...AKA I am AMA

    Thank you John

    for spending so long this morning explaining how the electrics work and providing me with valuable insight to the way the RCD works and how to test.. much appreciated.... Very nice to chat to some one that knows what he is tasking about and can explain it so I can understand the issues.:thumb::thumb::thumb:


    Will call you after I have been to VANBITZ on Thursday to let you know how I get on with Eddie and his boys having a look.

    Look forward to meeting you at Newbury... seems yet another Cobb owner.. can see some great cookouts if the weather allows.


    Bob:thumb:
     
  16. Griffs

    Griffs Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    SOUTH WALES
    vanbitz

    Bob ,are you stopping overnight at vanbitz.
     
  17. slobadoberbob

    slobadoberbob Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Kent, garden of England
    no Clive up and down in a day I hope

    Hi Clive, no hoping to do an up and down in a day if I can... why? .. could be a long day...


    Bob:Blush:
     
  18. Griffs

    Griffs Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    SOUTH WALES
    vb

    We are going down to golden cap late on thursday for the weekend, if you are there we could pop in on the way.
    Clive.
     
  19. slobadoberbob

    slobadoberbob Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Kent, garden of England
    I hope for a fast turn around Clive

    I am hoping for a fast turn around clive as the dog is at home and we have a couple of people coming in to let her out and feed her... I have to be at VanBitz for 10 a.m. ... although I all be there earlier as we have to leave home early to dodge the traffic on the M25, M3 and the A303 .... It all depends how long it takes Eddie and his chaps to see what is causing this issue which sounds like an earth problem.

    But as soon as they have done the work we head back home.

    Regards

    Bob
     
Loading...

Share This Page