Guide to getting online with FON / BT WiFi & SFR in France

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by Addie, Apr 7, 2014.

  1. Addie

    Addie Trader - Motorhome Wifi

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    406
    Location:
    York
    Hi all,

    There have been lots of threads posted by Funsters recently with regards to getting online with FON and so as I had a bit of time over the weekend I wanted to put together as much information as I could in one place.

    I have written an updated guide on our blog which covers the main points of interest about the scheme. Some BT Broadband customers have struggled to get online when in Europe but included below is a verified fix which almost 20 of our customers now having confirmed it resolved their issue.

    http://www.motorhomewifi.com/blog/the-definitive-guide-to-fon-and-bt-wifi/

    As you probably already know FON is an large network of free co-operative WiFi hotspots across the UK and Europe. The network has grown to almost 13,000,000 hotspots now available to members, with Greece recently added in the form of telecoms provider OTE.

    If you're a BT Broadband customer you will already get access as part of your package, but if you're not you can still join for a one off charge of £34 by sharing a little of your home broadband using a FON Box.

    With a WiFi booster you greatly increase your chance of being able to locate and connect to a FON hotspot, hence why we continue to recommend FON. While everyones experience varies, on the whole our customers have great reports for getting online in France. However this information is relevant to everyone regardless of what device you may own.

    I hope this information is of use :Smile:


    Adam & Sophie
    Motorhome WiFi
     
    • Like Like x 9
  2. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    7,751
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Right I will give this one more go , I will do to the letter what you say, because up to yet nothing I have done has worked, problem is how do we know if it is working or not till we get abroad, when it will be to late then.:thumb:
     
  3. Addie

    Addie Trader - Motorhome Wifi

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    406
    Location:
    York
    Once opted out (wait 24 hours) and then opted back in, contact FON directly with your @btinternet.com address and ask them to check that your account is cleared for access in France :thumb:

    Do ensure that in France you are logging in using the FON area as pictured on the blog post, not the SFR area as this is at odds with what you do in the UK :thumb:

    https://support.fon.com/anonymous_requests/new
     
  4. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    7,751
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Well I have gone to your first link and came up with an error straight away
     
  5. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    7,751
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    The bt status one
     
  6. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    7,751
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    God , I am just going to have to give this up , I shall be old before my time:Doh::BigGrin:
     
  7. Addie

    Addie Trader - Motorhome Wifi

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    406
    Location:
    York
    Links work for me - to confirm they are:

    1.) Opt out of FON / BT WiFi using the link below. Once completed, log out of your account:
    www.bt.com/wifi/secure/status.do

    2.) Wait for 24 hours and then visit the URL below to ‘Opt in’ to FON / BT WiFi again:
    www.bt.com/wifi/secure/index.do (not the end is index rather than status above).
     
  8. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    7,751
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Yes that one works , the other one took me to a site with your headline but with a big Red Cross on it. Anyway opted out now so see what happens now.
    Cheers
     
  9. Allanm

    Allanm Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    3,045
    Likes Received:
    4,120
    Location:
    Cotes d'armor, France
    We have a Fon box and have just come back from Brittany. We managed to get onto Fon networks all over the place, very easily. I just walk around with my phone searching for Fon networks, then connect as Addie says onto the yellow Fon network pages. Easy peasy.

    Allan
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,465
    Likes Received:
    25,158
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    I swapped to BT but kept my own router, coz it was all set up how I wanted it.

    So I don't act as a hotspot. Does this mean BT will block my FON or other hotspot use ?
     
  11. DP_JAY

    DP_JAY Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    1,022
    Location:
    Cark, Cumbria
    Thanks again for the email the other day, all working again now.
    We found it worked even better in belgium & connected automaticaly with a faster connection too.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Sidney

    Sidney Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    690
    Location:
    Stamford
    No. You're a BT customer. That's enough for it to work.

    But you must use your BT email address and password.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2014
  13. Addie

    Addie Trader - Motorhome Wifi

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    406
    Location:
    York
    I don't 100% know the answer here and something that I have asked BT but never got a straight answer with regards to, so would be interested in knowing your experience. The FON box has a 'heartbeat' which reports its online presence to FON periodically, but I would be surprised if the BT HomeHub has this.

    As I understand it access to FON is a benefit by virtue of being a BT Broadband Customer / Account holder being "opted in" to the scheme and so that should be sufficient. However a number of the customers who have reported issues to us have reported not using (or turning off) their Home Hubs and so I aired on the side of caution with the blog post.

    While it does seem a bit mean not broadcasting a FON hotspot for others to use, especially if you hope to take advantage of the scheme which we requires that others are doing so, I can't blame anyone for wanting to change their BT Home Hub for a better router! :RollEyes:

    Adam
     
  14. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,706
    Likes Received:
    3,211
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    I have found that if I turn my BT home hub (Infinity) off when we're away for a bit, it takes days to get back up to speed again. I just leave it on now.
     
  15. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .


    I have BT broadband and just checked my account..


    the straight answer
    .
    http://btsupport.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/12958/c/1812

    and I have no problem with the BT home hub
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2014
  16. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,465
    Likes Received:
    25,158
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    If you asked "what day is it" you'd not get a straight answer !
     
  17. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    7,751
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    I have rang bt many times about this fon thing, you all know and are fed up hearing about how long I have been on to this, and they just don't seem to understand what fon is, I think I know more about it than anyone on there now, they seem to think you have to go to a bt website to connect, but how are you supposed to do that in France if you havnt got a connection:Doh::Doh:
     
  18. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,859
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    A question for Addie I suspect.
    I do not use BT as my ISP and have no intention of switching to them. I use a Netgear DG834G V3 WiFi Router (old but reliable). If I understand your earlier post correctly, I can buy a Fon Box and plug it into the Netgear router via a Cat5 ethernet cable. It will then act as a subsidiary WiFi access point. Do I have to switch off the Netgear WiFi access and rely solely on the Fon point, or can I continue to use the Netgear WiFi internally and have the Fon broadcast for external use? The Fon external access point is largely irrelevant anyway since I cannot imagine many people wanting to try and access WiFi where we live, but the reciprocal facility would be useful when travelling of course.

    Many thanks for your already helpful information.
     
  19. Sidney

    Sidney Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    690
    Location:
    Stamford
    My mum has BT wifi. She does not use a BT router.

    I use her BT username and password - it always works.

    Maybe it because she has not opted out of BT WiFi?
     
  20. Addie

    Addie Trader - Motorhome Wifi

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    406
    Location:
    York
    Nothing would change for you, other than the addition of the FON box sat beside your existing router, you would still connect to it and use it as normal. There will be two 'new' networks visible on your devices - a new private network (password on the reverse) and a new public network.

    There may be a small added benefit in that the private FON network broadcasted would be Wireless N - a faster, further reaching network then your DG834G can produce which is only Wireless G, but in general I would just ignore it and get on with enjoying FON hotspots elsewhere. :thumb:
     
Loading...

Share This Page