guess what .... Help please

Discussion in 'Computers' started by movan, Jun 6, 2014.

  1. movan

    movan Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12,872
    Likes Received:
    22,489
    Location:
    Moving around
    Really peed off .. typing this at the library which won't let me open half the web sites I want to access...

    My computer stopped working because it said I have used up all my allowance..Three (3) broadband..... I havn't used anywhere near my allowance so came to the library and went onto my account pages (limited access) and from what I gather I seem to have had Apps running in the background ... (could be when computer switched off .. is this possible?) but already told you that my computer hacked into and these apps keep popping up. I switch them off as I see them but they must be downloading or running or something without my knowledge. I have malaware bytes running and disc cleaner is used. What can I do to stop this continuing, please?

    (please keep answers very simple and go through each stage, don't say 'open ......' please tell me how I open it.)

    It is a friend's celebration tomorrow and I need to know asap...

    Will come back to library later if you can help before then I would so appreciate it. Many thanks.:Sad:
     
  2. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    malwarebytes will only work in real time if you subscribe otherwise it will just clean them when you run a scan. In real time it stops them ever getting on the computer.
     
  3. CJB

    CJB Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Kent
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,941
    Likes Received:
    14,007
    Location:
    UK
    If you are still having problems when we get to Stratford I will look at it for you. It's too hard to sort out remotely unfortunately.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. OddSocks

    OddSocks Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    395
    Location:
    Cornwall
    You need to run a virus scan - which anti virus software do you have installed? perhaps best to start with this:

    Microsoft safety scanner:

    http://www.microsoft.com/security/scanner/en-us/default.aspx

    Download it from that page and follow the on-screen instructions!
    Then run malwarebytes and do a scan.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    Joy

    Are you using a mifi? Is it password protected? Has some one hacked into it and used All of your allowance. It may be nothing to do with your pc.

    John
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,471
    Likes Received:
    16,925
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    cut your losses and do a factory reset/format.

    It wipes ALL personal files and added programs, rewrites the windows operating system and goes to the same state as it was when you bought it.

    Its a very hard choice (had to do it twice now) to make as EVERYTHING is lost...but you do have a new computer.

    You could save all your photos and documents to a seperate hard drive, scan for viruses then download to your reinstated computer....after you reinstall your programs...or just save them to windows documents.
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2014
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page