Ground clearance & rear overhang (1 Viewer)

Aug 21, 2015
Southampton
Funster No
MH
A/T Impala 615
Exp
I'm a slightly less experienced newbie and still learning
Looking at a demonstrator of the MoHo A.T. Delaware. I am shortly to get the exhaust appears to only clear the ground by approximately 6" (unloaded)!
Strikes me that with the length of the wheelbase, the size of some road furniture (humps, curbs etc) that this is not a lot.

Anybody have problems in this respect?

Also with something like a 6' rear overhang, with not a lot of ground clearance here either, does getting on and off ferries pose any problems.
Sure that I am worrying unnecessarily as this site would be full of chat about it.
Re-assurance would be nice though.

Ray

Nine tenths of wisdom is being wise in time T Roosevelt

icantremember

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 2, 2010
Near to Watton in Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Hymer T-SL668
Exp
since 2005
Have something like AS-Air suspension with dedicated compressor fitted and you can raise and lower the rear end as necessary from the cab while on the move.

sparky

Free Member
Feb 19, 2008
bingley yorkshire
Funster No
MH
a class burstner aviano i
Exp
30 years
Hi yes you can fit air ride to alko I have it on my burstner marcle supplied it not cheap

Feb 24, 2013
Bolsover, Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer S800
Exp
not long enough
I would be worried at that clearance, we have a similar length overhang and more than 9" clearance but used to regularly ground that till we fitted AS on rear so we can lift the rear for tricky situations, like ferries or steep turns

My other worry would be reversing into large kerbs, with the extra length we often use grassed or paved areas to back over to get as far out of the way as we can, some kerbs will be 6" high and could do a lot of damage to your exhaust if hit end on

I would definitely look into ride height adjustment of some kind (y)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Last edited:

MikeD

Free Member
Dec 21, 2011
London