Give me an aire!

Discussion in 'Continental Touring' started by ericonabike, Sep 6, 2012.

1. ericonabike

ericonabike Read Only Funster

Mrs E and I are in Brittany after touring France for almost two weeks. It's our first proper holiday here in our new home and we've been a little disappointed on the aires front! The two that we have stayed on have been car parks, essentially, where we were charged 8 and 10 Euros respectively. We are currently on an ACSI site in a wonderful location at 14 Euros a night! We got the location of the aires from the French 'camping-car-info' website.

We're heading back towards Calais tomorrow and have this challenge to aires-lovers - do you know of an aire in the vicinity of Caen/Le Havre that would persuade us to use them more often?

2. Geo

Geo Trader - Funster

Im no expert but i dont think you need persuading, you need to change your perception
    An aires-de -service is a car park:thumb:
    For motor homes:Doh:
    They are not meant to be alternatives to camping sites:RollEyes:

• Like Like x 3
  3. Sundowners

Sundowners Funster Life Member

We found most of aires along the coast charge - go inland, we found some beautiful ones along with some in car parks that don't charge at all and some only charge if you want water or to dump. 'All the Aires book of France' are aires, but a lot of the places to stay on the website 'WWW.campingcars-infos' are just that, places to stay and these can just be a place, not necessary of beauty, but you can stay overnight without getting moved on. At no time are they a replacement for campsites.

Nigel and Pamala
    BTW---do not confuse 'aires-de-service' with m/home stopping places, usually in towns/villages and built/designed as m/home stop-over points.

Last edited: Sep 6, 2012
    • Like Like x 2
  4. keith

keith Funster

You are in one of the most popular areas and this will be reflected in what you are charged.