Generator questions from a complete novice

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by GJH, Feb 18, 2012.

1. GJH

GJH Funster Life Member

As the header says I basically know next to nowt about generators other than you stick petrol in them, start them and you get 230v & 12v output.

Seeing the various threads over the past few days got me thinking about what are the real differences between the three oft-mentioned makes of Honda, Kipor and Clarke?

So, looking on the web I put together the attached comparison table and it seems to me that the only significant differences between the three models are "the cheaper the noisier" and that the Honda has a much longer warranty.

This is a serious enquiry, seeking knowledge and certainly not wanting to start any wars but, leaving aside any personal preferences/prejudices which anyone might have, are there technically and practically any advantages in paying the higher prices for the more expensive models?

Attached Files:

2. chatter

chatter Read Only Funster

errr i for one dont think so as long as its inverter technology (sine wave) and weight.
    I had a honda and 2 probs with it were, it quickly waxed up for some reason if fuel was left in it , and it weighed a ton
    I now have a cheapie which is a little bit more vocal but in the last three years has never waxed up on me and its lighter so i can at least lift it in and out of its storage spot (couldnt do that with the honda), and i mean a cheapie its a Pro-user from Makro but has been reliable and performed when needed - and i imagine that if i added a little exhaust extension it would make it as quiet as a honda

• Like Like x 1
  3. Gromett

Gromett Funster

My first one was a Honda EU2.0 2Kw. I had money to burn back in those days and got the best of everything.

I now have the cheapest. A Clarke 1Kw Digi jobby.

All I can say about it is it works and is reliable. I can't say anymore because you won't be able to hear me over the noise.:Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1: