Free Member
Sep 9, 2014
Somewhere in France
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
I'm a newbie
I believe there is a very nice aire in this village, but I am a bit concerned if the road up (and down) may be a little bit steep. I would appreciate any advice from anyone who has made this trip. I have a 2.6 litre autotrail cheyanne and would hope to bomb up there (and down) without difficulty.
Look forward to your replies.

Emmit

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 14, 2009
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Pilote Explorateur
Exp
Jan.2014
Campercontact gives two Aires.
First one is 'Parking Holle' at N42.73857 W0.01959. Price of €4. The photo shows three 'vans one of which looks like it's shrunk in the rain (it's lickle)
The second Aire is given as 'Parking du Cirque' @ N42.73694 W0.01278 It's down as Free with no services.
In the comments it says that Cirque du Gavernie can be reached with a donkey, a horse or by foot.(says nothing about getting there by van! A giant waterfall, snow pillars and mountain slopes.

Regards

fleurides

Free Member
Jul 9, 2015
France
Funster No
MH
Pilote D730
Exp
Less than 1 year
I've only made the trip by car but there are no sections of the road which would cause problems due to steepness. There are some spectacular walks round Gavarnie, particularly the Refuge des Espuguettes &, of course, la Cirque de Gavarnie, which is superb.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

jumar

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 6, 2012
Spain
Funster No
MH
Hymer Tramp
Exp
Since 1994
We pass that way with a 6.5m motorhome, we have never had problems. As this location is at the head of a valley its a good idea to stay a few days so go stocked up.
Fantastic location, views are stunning. The aires are very well attended by motorhomers from around Europe, many long stay. Hope you can include this on your travels.

D

deleted-member02

Deleted User
We visited Cauterets and Pont d'Espagne last summer. Roads were great, was quite surprised at how easy the drive was.