Free Member
Apr 22, 2017
Derby
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Hi everyone.

I just picked up a 6 month old complete 11kg Gasit system on Gumtree (bargain at £100) which I will fit myself in the next few weeks.

However, I am curious, I am insured with Caravanguard and wondered if anyone knows if they are likely to be interested. I don't see any mention in other threads, and I will call them tomorrow to find out. In the mean time, any thoughts?

soreeyes

Free Member
Feb 21, 2012
Dorset
Funster No
MH
Sunlight T69L 2017
Exp
im a newbie
I think your find that Caravan guard will require a certified installation . I know when I have enquired to them about installing a extra electrical outlet they would not cover any damage caused by the installation like a electrical fire unless it was installed by a qualified electrician and covered by a certificate .

Upvote 0

andy63

Free Member
Jan 19, 2014
south shields
Funster No
MH
None
Exp
since 1990
any thoughts
Yes... my thoughts....
if you are confident about doing the work just fit it..
I can't see many insurer's saying anything else if you put that question to them...
If you get hab checks done I'm sure it will get checked then and if all is OK there then it shouldn't be an issue in the longer term...
That's just me mind.. I dislike people telling me what I can and can't do to my own van if I'm able to do it... but understand it may be advice that comes with a risk....:)
Andy.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

EX51SSS

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 18, 2015
North Manchester
Funster No
MH
Hymer Exsis A Class
Exp
since 2007
Yes... my thoughts....
if you are confident about doing the work just fit it..
I can't see many insurer's saying anything else if you put that question to them...
If you get hab checks done I'm sure it will get checked then and if all is OK there then it shouldn't be an issue in the longer term...