Gas Ring Won't Stay On

Discussion in 'Fridges & Ovens' started by Jez and Lin, Jun 13, 2015.

  1. Jez and Lin

    Jez and Lin Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    York, North Yorkshire
    I can light it ok but when I release the button for that particular ring it goes out. I've taken it apart and cleaned the gas jet with no success. Could it be the Thermocouple? or any other ideas?
     
  2. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    7,057
    Likes Received:
    13,918
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    is it the same for all of them? if not I would think something is misaligned (y)
     
  3. Jez and Lin

    Jez and Lin Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    York, North Yorkshire
    No its just one of the 4 rings on the hob. Its the most used one so I thought it might of got sooted up but the jet seems clear. I would say its unlikely anything is unaligned as up until now I haven't taken any of it apart and nothing has been knocked.
     
  4. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    7,057
    Likes Received:
    13,918
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    the plate in the middle has to be sat on correctly, every time Bev cleans our hob I have to 'mend' ours
     
  5. old-mo

    old-mo Funster Extra Special Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    12,942
    Likes Received:
    40,139
    Location:
    Dorset
    As it is just the one, I would say Thermalcouple..(y)
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  6. Jez and Lin

    Jez and Lin Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    York, North Yorkshire
    Yes I know what you mean but mine screws down so you can't knock it off centre.
     
  7. Jez and Lin

    Jez and Lin Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    York, North Yorkshire
    Thanks Mo, I was thinking the same.
     
  8. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    7,057
    Likes Received:
    13,918
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    sorry I have peaked now, but at least you have 3 others :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2015
    • Like it Like it x 1
  9. REKERLY

    REKERLY Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    335
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Jez make sure the flame is covering the sensor next to the burner. We have one burner that has had the same problem adjusting the sensor position solved the problem. If no go then new thermocouple required.
    Rex
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  10. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,941
    Likes Received:
    25,637
    Location:
    .
    Had the same problem on two burners.. discovered it was accumulated burnt on dirt under the plate which reduces the flame and in turn fails to heat the thermocouple sufficiently..

    Unscrew the top plate on the burner and check that it and the burner is clean.. while you are at it.. good idea to clean them all..
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  11. jockaneezer

    jockaneezer Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    3,387
    Location:
    Cumbria
    What model hob have you got ? Two of our rings wouldn't stay alight on our Cramer hob, I removed the front plate with the control knobs on and wiggled the Lucar connectors from the thermocouples, been fine ever since (y)
     
  12. Scattycat

    Scattycat Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    1,184
    Location:
    Mayenne, France
    We occasionally have a similar problem.
    By opening a drawer next to the hob I can just reach the ignition wires for the offending hot plate. Usually by jiggling the wires it goes back to working properly.
     
Loading...

Share This Page