Gas problems

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Ovalball, Apr 30, 2016.

  1. Ovalball

    Ovalball Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Hull
    When we arrived at Peterborough the other week,I realised I had greatly reduced pressure on all my gas appliances,to the extent the fire wouldn't even light.Next morning,without any effort on my part,it was all working again!This weekend we are at York and the same thing happened again.As we are going to France in 2 weeks I really need to sort it.My question is,can it be anything other than the regulator?My set up is that I have a cylinder fitted under the fan and fill up at the pumps.It was all fitted by Autogas 2000 in Thirsk but unfortunately they are now closed until Tuesday.I was going to drive the short journey to their workshop from here in Yorkbut will struggle to get there before we set off for France.If it's just the regulator I can buy one and get it sorted.Any advice appreciated.
     
  2. denisejoe

    denisejoe Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,164
    Likes Received:
    846
    Location:
    Isle of Sheppy
    I think i would change the regulator first

    Joe
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Wedgy

    Wedgy Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Caerphilly
    Are you using Butane or Propane, if its Butane that could be your problem as it doesn't work at low temperatures - below 4 degrees I think.
    Maybe night time temp was below 4 degrees rising above that in the morning.

    Patrick
     
  4. SandraL

    SandraL Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Somerset
    Where did you last fill up. If UK it will have been 100% propane, if Spain then perhaps 30% propane and 70% butane leading to symptoms you have experienced.
     
  5. Wildbill

    Wildbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    12,090
    Location:
    goole
    Run your gas down it's a bit warmer today then fill up think you will find it will be OK when you get sum propane in the system
    I would top up firs to see if that fixes it first before buying a new regator
    Or warm up the tank with the hare drier
    Bill
     
  6. Ovalball

    Ovalball Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Hull
    Its propane,same stuff I have always used..Never had problems before even in freezing conditions.Could just be a bad batch I suppose.I think at around £30 I will replace the regulator just in case.Its the fact it comes and goes that puzzles me though
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Fragle

    Fragle Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Coventry
    Source of ignition heating a gas tank. :Eeek: Are you sure. Although standing a large rabbit like animal next to the gas tank won't warm it up. Unless it rubs it hard I suppose:whistle:
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  8. Wildbill

    Wildbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    12,090
    Location:
    goole
    As long as there is no leeks the I don't se a problem but you could always just wate for summer :rofl: advice on her is given freely and withe the best intentions Bill
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    you don't get bad batches of propane, certainly not in the UK

    change the regulator..
     
  10. Derbyshire wanderer

    Derbyshire wanderer Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    677
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Change the regulator. It won't be wasted as having a spare is sensible anyway.
     
  11. PeteH

    PeteH Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    2,202
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    There was an issue with regulators a few years back, they where apparently "gumming up" with a residue that had some connection with the material the hoses where manufactured from. It was supposed to be cured by a change to the (hose) materials. Question?. how old are your hoses?.

    You will probably have to change the Regulator anyway, as they apparently dont clean.

    Pete
     
  12. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,066
    Likes Received:
    7,117
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    I assume That as it is an underslung tank there will be no rubber hoses involved.

    Best to speak with Chris at Autogas2000.
     
  13. PeteH

    PeteH Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    2,202
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    You are likely correct, however my 1984 R-V with 2 underslung tanks. had sections of Hose?

    Pete
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  14. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,066
    Likes Received:
    7,117
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Was that the filler hoses or supply from the tanks to the rv?
     
  15. PeteH

    PeteH Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    2,202
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    The filler was mounted direct to the tank(s) one either side. The high pressure hose connected the Tank outlet from the Regulator to the Steel pipework, which then connected to the Copper used inside the R-V. There was another section of HP hose which connected the Pipework for the (separate) Tank for the Generator to the Generator, It seems complex I would agree, and the only reason we came come up with was to isolate the various items from vibration!, and might have had to do with not using as much copper pipe?. That was 1980`s American style!.

    It was a similar system, but using only one tank on the Odessa. But the Winnebago had copper pipe throughout.

    Pete
     
  16. Mikeco

    Mikeco Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Market Rasen
    On my Autogas tank the regulator is fitted directly to the tank so if yours is I'm not sure if you can remove it with lpg in the tank.
     
  17. mitzimad

    mitzimad Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    3,328
    Location:
    walthamstow east london
  18. Ovalball

    Ovalball Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Hull
    There is a gate valve on the tank which does allow for the removal of the regulator without draining the tank.On the original regulator the fitting into the tank is bigger than 8mm.I hand an 8mm spare regulator but can I get an adaptor to reduce the tank outlet to 8mm?
     
  19. magicsurfbus

    magicsurfbus Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,510
    Likes Received:
    8,265
    Location:
    NW England
    Is any of the pipework made of rubber hose? One of the problems of gloopy residue blocking the pipes was due to a reaction with rubber hoses. Flexible stainless steel piping is recommended as a replacement.
     
  20. Ovalball

    Ovalball Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Hull
    No it's all solid copper pipe.I see you can now buy filters to fit inline between the tank and the regulator.More expense
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. ShiftZZ
    Replies:
    41
    Views:
    1,163
  2. critch
    Replies:
    29
    Views:
    1,925
  3. robrace
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    335
  4. GWAYGWAY
    Replies:
    28
    Views:
    968
  5. robrace
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    519

Share This Page