May 7, 2015
Ulldecona Catalunya Spain
Funster No
MH
Hobby 6M
Exp
Since 4 months
Hi

I am very new to motor homing, bought our German made Hobby in October, travelled around north eastern Spain a bit since then. We are enjoying the experience very much so far.

I live in Spain, but I am planning a prolonged trip around France this coming spring and summer.

I am no spring chicken and changing the very heavy gas bottles in a cramped situation is becoming a bit of a chore.

Thinking of installing a refillable gas bottle, which I believe can be refilled at plenty of filling stations, however I have heard that domestic use of this gas is illegal in France.

Has anyone experienced difficulty in refilling these bottles in France or anywhere else for that matter.

Forestboy

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 31, 2007
Forest of Dean
Funster No
MH
A Class Hymer B694 tag
Exp
Have 2 Alugas bottles fitted in my locker with an outside filling point in the valance. Never had any problems filling anywhere in Europe especially France.

glenn2926

Free Member
Sep 11, 2012
Gods country
Funster No
MH
Chausson
Exp
newbie hired 3
We returned from six weeks around France at the end of October. During that trip we filled up a couple of times at filling stations with no trouble at all. We have an under slung tank fitted. I do not think they would know if the gas was for domestic or vehicle use.

Nov 6, 2013
East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B574DL
Exp
Since 2011 (tugger for 20 before that)
We have a gas it system with an in locker fill point and have had no problems in the UK, Italy, Spain or France.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Apr 27, 2008
Eastbourne East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer low profile
Exp
Since 1972
I am always careful not to get gas and diesel from the same filling station at the same time. To do so is advertising that the gas is for domestic use, probably a bit ott but I have not had any problems filling anywhere.

Armytwowheels

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 10, 2012
Market Harborough