Gas leaking

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Branston1080, Jan 16, 2013.

1. Branston1080

Branston1080 Funster

Dear all

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Returning back to the van tonight there was a distinct smell of gas. I opened up an air flow and then opened the gas locker to turn the gas bottle off. I could hear a faint leak on the screw in end ( sorry, I'm sure there is a technical term).
    I had changed bottles the night before the connection seemed fine. I unscrewed and re screwed the connection, again could still hear a leak. I repeated 4/5 times but was not confident it wasn't leaking..

So I've changed bottles, I can't hear a leak. I'm still new to this and wondered if anyone had any thoughts or suggestions. Any tips on how to ensure I make a good connection?
    I have got a carbon monoxide alarm - not sure if that helps in this case?

Thank you in advance:thumb:

2. scotjimland

scotjimland Funster Life Member

Yes.

check the face of connection for any marks or scores.. also check the female part on the bottle. any roughness will cause a leak.. If that's ok, tighten the nut by hand, then about another 1/4 turn with a spanner.. make up a solution of water and washing up liquid .. you only need a few drops.. turn on the gas, pour some it over the connection.. watch for soapy bubbles..

If you see bubbles, try tightening just a little more.. but don't over tighten... if it still leaks inspect again .. it's possible to polish out small marks on the the male connection.. but don't use anything too abrasive.. you may need a new pig tail..

Last edited: Jan 16, 2013
  3. Reallyretired

Reallyretired Funster

Carbon monoxide alarm would not work in this case, you would need a gas alarm,mounted low down as gas is heavier than air.