Free Member
Oct 4, 2014
Berkshire
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
This might be a "How long is a piece of string" question but here goes.

We're thinking of heading to Austria next Christmas for a couple of weeks in the van and wondering if 2 6kg calor lite bottles would suffice?

I intend to have 2 stop overs on the way down (then 2 on the way back up) which will probably be on Aires or equivalent but intend to spend the rest of the time on site plugged in.

We have a Bailey autograph which is winterised and the heating can be used on electric as can the hob. We are intending to take a halogen oven to cook in most of the time as well.

Would also be interested in people's experience of a similar trip

Thanks in advance

C

Chockswahay

Deleted User
If you use leccy when you are there then yes .......... plenty :)

Big Nick

Free Member
Aug 17, 2015
Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Low Profile Coachbuilt
Exp
Yes, that's definitely enough I think

We have used our Bailey MH for around 18 nights away so far and probably only had it on hookup for half the time. Even on hook up we use the gas oven and hob quite often as well though.

The rest of the time we've been using the gas a lot for heating, fridge and cooking and we are just about at the end of an 11kg bottle

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Dec 6, 2011
South Wales
Funster No
MH
Coach built Adria
Exp
Since 2007
IMHO ... NO.... most EHU / elec van heaters are no more than 2 kw and you will freeze your bits off at night.

you will need gas heating; remember Austria in late December will likely be -15 to -20'C at night; and 2 kw will not make you comfortable. the person to ask is @jonandshell they do lots of skiing in their van and if its going to be parked up for any period you will need to be aware of a few other little nuances:whistle:

Dec 6, 2011
South Wales
Funster No
MH
Coach built Adria
Exp
Since 2007