Free Member
Jan 11, 2015
Australia
Funster No
MH
Dont own one yet
Exp
Im a newbie
Hi all we off to france for the first time tomorrow, and was wondering is it prity easy to refill gas bottles over there.

Feb 5, 2009
South Essex
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
15 in MH, 15 in Caravan
I think the short answer is - depends on what bottles you have in your van already...

If you have calor, then difficult/impossible to swap...
If you have refillables, then dead easy as there are quite a few petrol garages selling lpg...

Cheers
Steve

Last edited:
Upvote 0

sedge

Funster
Jul 7, 2009
Nr Jct 3 M6
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
Aug 09 to date 9,000 miles!
I should swap to Camping Gaz - which you will need a different regulator for - if you are only there for a reasonably short time.

If not I assume there are French Butane bottles you can buy which would be exchangeable similar to Calor - but I know nothing about them. And of course the first one is expensive in comparison to just swapping it.

We have a Gaslow system on our Moho for that very reason. But all the refillable at petrol stations ones like Gaslow, Gas-It, Alugas - cost a few hundred quid and inlolve fitting a filler point and associated pipework to the van somewhere - akin to the petrol/diesel tank filler - to the motorhome so not something do-able suddenly since although not difficult to install per se - you'd have to gather all the right bits including the tanks - first.

Upvote 0
Feb 5, 2009
South Essex
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
15 in MH, 15 in Caravan
Thanks I have calor, where would I get a refilable one ?
What size calor bottles do you have and how long are you away for?
You might have enough capacity to not need to refill...

We have alugas refillables now but last year in our last van we went for 3 weeks on our 2x 6kg calor bottles easily. However, there was only two of us, only using the gas for the fridge, hot water and cooking (no heating needed)...

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Last edited: