Garmin Satnav From Aldi.

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Barbara Hughes, Apr 25, 2015.

  1. Barbara Hughes

    Barbara Hughes Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Penrith
    Hi was just interested to see what people thought of their Garmin satnavs purchased from Aldi a few weeks ago,.......so what do you think of it?
     
  2. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,233
    Likes Received:
    34,429
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    We've used ours on the current trip to Peterborough, Epworth and Doncaster and it has been generally OK. One suspect turn on the way to Epworth which we ignored but could well have been alright.

    I find some of the built in POIs obtrusive so will look at taking them off when we get home. Also some of my custom POIs don't display but that is probably an icon problem.

    Now that @lunarman has sorted out my Chinese sat nav I intend running the 2 side by side on our next trip.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Barbara Hughes

    Barbara Hughes Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Penrith
    We're still waiting for delivery of our new motorhome so haven't used ours yet ..I was waiting to see what everyone thought of them.. if they weren't up to much I was going to take it back as I haven't updated it yet and there was 90 days on it :)
     
  4. catspyjamas

    catspyjamas Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    673
    Location:
    Bristol
    It took me down some fairly narrow roads which included a hairpin bend in Cornwall last week. :Eeek:

    The display is very clear and I like the advance warning of speed limit changes.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Barbara Hughes

    Barbara Hughes Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Penrith
    Was it difficult to upgrade?
     
  6. Serendipitous

    Serendipitous Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    259
    Location:
    Devizes
    Took one for a spin in the car to Caerphilly last week, turned off the planned route by accident, it tried to direct us down a one way street.
    May have been a recent road change, who knows.

    MH trip planned next week after which its decision time keep or return. Looking very much like the latter given the fun updating it and the lack of response from Garmin about poor route choices.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. RowleyBirkinQC

    RowleyBirkinQC Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Dazed & Confused
    I missed out on the Aldi special, but bought one on impulse for £239 in the Halfords flash sale on St Goerge's day which got delivered today. No problems updating the maps earlier this evening, very straight forword, assuming the device will now actually work... ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. DP_JAY

    DP_JAY Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    1,022
    Location:
    Cark, Cumbria
    Rubbish ( or should I say garbage).
    On the way back from Peterborough it kept losing the satellites coming accross the M62 & up the M6. On the rare occasions the TomTom loses the satellite( tunnels, bridges etc.) The screen greys but it keeps moving allong the route. It assumes you are doing the same speed & sticking to the planned route. The Garbage(Garmin) just freezes with a big sign telling you it's lost the satellites, so you can't follow the route.
    As we got near home it wasn't happy when I turned off the A590 onto a minor road ( which horse boxes & coaches etc. Use regularly) & kept telling me to turn off down even smaller roads that, A dont take me in the right direction & B are even narrower than the road I was on.
    Needless to say it went back to Aldi on Thursday, no quibble from Aldi, for a refund.
    A phone call to TomTom resulted in my Via 125 being upgraded to Camper version with 12 months map updates & all for £29.95.
    Result!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Barbara Hughes

    Barbara Hughes Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Penrith
    Sounds like early days yet then, Not sure what to do ....I've had a Navman for the last few years in my car and it's been superb hmmm shall wait a little longer and see I think
     
  10. Barbara Hughes

    Barbara Hughes Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Penrith
    Really that sound pretty poor to me wonder if I can get my old one updated to camper version Must have a look!!
     
  11. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    I have had my Garmin 560 (truck satnav) for nearly two years and it has been very good. (It's a slightly smaller version of the 760.) Sometimes it chooses odd routes but generally will only direct me down a narrow road if there is no alternative. By default, it will prioritise major roads over minor ones. Note that you can set these truck Garmins to give you an option of faster time or shortest distance then it's up to you if you choose the latter. Still, it will try and keep you off small roads. I assume those having problems have set and activated the motorhome (or truck) profile with appropriate size and weight dimensions?
    Personally, I would not bother with a camper version. It only has camping POIs ready installed and I prefer to get the ones I want off the internet and load them myself onto the standard 560 / 760 truck model.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. sdc77

    sdc77 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,484
    Likes Received:
    2,892
    Location:
    East london
    We've used ours around the UK and southern Scotland..
    No issues at all. Updates are simple..
    Looking forward to using the basecamp planning software.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page