Garmin sat -nav problem .

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by gus-lopez, Oct 7, 2015.

  1. gus-lopez

    gus-lopez Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    4,343
    Likes Received:
    7,889
    Location:
    Lorca,Murcia,Spain
    I was given a Garmin nuvi 205 sat-nav of of my brother-in.law after he passed away. Never really got it out of box except to look at it. Until yesterday ........... when my own Mio Navman decided to jam up. Having spent hours trying to unam it I've given up & remembered the garmin. Only to find that it is password protected ???
    Requires 4 numbers but obviously I've no one to ask. Anyone any idea whether it can be overcome or is it another for the bin ? :(
    I reckon he's having a good laugh at me up there.:LOL:
     
  2. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    any good ?

    If you have forgotten your 4 digit PIN number you can unlock the device by returning to your "security location". The security location is the location where you first enabled the lock on your device. Returning to the security location will unlock your device, provided the device is on and has acquired satellites. Once at that location and the device is unlocked, then you can go back into the Garmin lock screen and enter a NEW PIN code that you can remember.

    If you have forgotten your PIN and security location please contact product support for assistance. Please note we will require a copy of the receipt and there will be a charge (fee) to unlock the device, as this issue is not covered by the warranty.


    more info here http://www.sciuridae.co.uk/understanding_garmin_lock.htm
     
  3. Gellyneck

    Gellyneck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    2,049
    Location:
    Scotland
  4. Badknee

    Badknee Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3,640
    Likes Received:
    15,218
    Location:
    notloB
    A lot of devices are 1234 or 0000, just a thought?
     
  5. andy63

    andy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,844
    Likes Received:
    6,409
    Location:
    south shields
    Sorry a duplicate post...
     
  6. gus-lopez

    gus-lopez Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    4,343
    Likes Received:
    7,889
    Location:
    Lorca,Murcia,Spain
    Yes tried everything posted already. Location could be anywhere ! Ramsgate; London, Essex or Budapest ! lol :LOL:Reset does a master reset but doesn't remove pin lock.
    No point contacting garmin as no receipt ,obviously. last option is input the 9,999 possible options !!!:):(:cry:
     
  7. Gellyneck

    Gellyneck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    2,049
    Location:
    Scotland
    BiLs date \ year of birth, last 4 numbers of telephone number, etc?
     
  8. Peter A Forbes

    Peter A Forbes Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Rushden, Northants, UK
    We have a Garmin Nuovi, compared to what is on the market now it is just about fit for the skip.

    It won't upgrade maps as it is a UK locked model, but they won't tell you that.

    It won't take an SD card less than 4gig but it isn't documented anywhere.

    If you put new maps on with (say) an 8gb card, the new maps AND the old won't work, I spent three days on the phone to Garmin trying to get it running, gave up in the end. Oh, and don't try XP or earlier Windows to upgrade with.

    Biggest load of rubbish I have ever bought (for our company vans)

    I use Sygic now for mapping etc.

    Peter
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Oldyamyam

    Oldyamyam

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    France
    Chuck it in the bin and get yourself a Chinese Nozatec or similar with free lifetime map updates for less than Garmin would want for one years update.

    Dave
     
  10. Tootles

    Tootles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8,936
    Likes Received:
    30,764
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Most of these 'out of the box' codes are either 0000 or 1111.
     
  11. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,227
    Likes Received:
    34,397
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    As far as I know all Garmins are unlocked by default so don't have a default code. If a code is in place, therefore, it is because the previous owner set it. Hence all one can try is trial & error or pay Garmin to reset it (probably almost as cheap to buy a new one).
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. gus-lopez

    gus-lopez Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    4,343
    Likes Received:
    7,889
    Location:
    Lorca,Murcia,Spain
    Yes tried all of them.
    I have now lined up to buy a Tom -Tom go 710 .. 20€ can't be bad !
    Quite sad that the Mio has died actually . I quite enjoyed the mapping on it which was obviously for horse & carts, it was that old !
     
Loading...

Share This Page