Garmin Dezl 760

Discussion in 'GPS Navigation' started by Tony H, May 4, 2015.

  1. Tony H

    Tony H Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Thinking of getting a Garmin Devl, any body got any new views on it? Getting it for Europe mostly.
     
  2. Ali n Tim

    Ali n Tim Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    3,997
    Location:
    Maidstone Kent
    We gave got the Dezi 560 and it's great!! (y)
     
  3. andy63

    andy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,847
    Likes Received:
    6,444
    Location:
    south shields
    +1 for the dezl 560..still don't know my way round every feature on it and most probably never will but has seldom let me down and was a godsend in spain and Portugal earlier in the year... lifetime map updates( which equates to 4 updates a year I think)...
    ta andy
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    I have a 560 (slightly smaller version of the 760) and rate it higher than either the previous car-type Garmin I had in the motorhome, or the (ridiculously expensive) built-in unit in my Subaru.
     
  5. Clarky

    Clarky Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    1,172
    Location:
    Suffolk or France or ........
    Got the 760 Camper and in the main it is good......but!
    Every now and again it comes up with daft routes taking us round miles of motorway instead of a much shorter and perfectly good A road. When you take that good A road Garmin keeps trying to take you back to its preferred route, often via narrow lanes.
    If you are not familiar with an area a look at an old fashioned map to check the route is a good idea.

    Score 7/10.

    Richard.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Have you set it to give you two route options before you start? There is a setting to prompt you whether to choose fastest time or shortest distance. As it's designed for lorries, it will tend to prioritise motorways (unless you have set it to avoid tolls when abroad of course). Even when you choose shortest distance, it will still go for larger roads over small ones.
     
  7. RowleyBirkinQC

    RowleyBirkinQC Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Dazed & Confused
    We recently purchased the 760 LMT-D Camper in a Halfords Flash Sale saving a considerable amount over RRP, updated maps and used it for the first time over the bank holiday. Admittedly, not the most taxing of routes, set it to "fastest time" and it favoured M-ways / fast A roads etc. More impressively, when approaching Lincoln on Friday the A46 was closed due to some shenanigans with mass traffic build up, which the Traffic feature masterfully bypassed via an alternate route on both country and urban roads (none were inappropriate for vehicle).
     
  8. MicknPat

    MicknPat Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    2,654
    Location:
    Touring UK
    Getting a bit annoyed with our dezl 760, well I don't think its the device rather than the Garmin software. Having problems entering some Spanish addresses, not sure whether ALL Garmin devices software is the same but on entering a town,street or post code you get a keyboard displayed then as you start entering the information the keyboard appears to try and predict what you are trying to type and either highlights or greys out certain letters or numbers, not so good :( if a latter you require to spell out the place is greyed out. :madder:
     
  9. Gellyneck

    Gellyneck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    2,049
    Location:
    Scotland
    Noticed that problem on our previous car Garmin sat nav however was, generally, because I spelt it "wrong" - ie not the same way as Garmin! Having said that was always able to get round it by changing to postcode or street name (the opposite of what I was using).
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Clarky

    Clarky Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    1,172
    Location:
    Suffolk or France or ........
    Have always set it for fastest route as previous sat-nags, Garmin or TT, tried to take us through all sorts of daft short cuts when programmed for shortest route.
    If it will keep us to sensible roads I will give shortest route a try and see what happens.
    Thanks Phillip.

    Richard.
     
Loading...

Share This Page