Garmin Camper 760 Sat Nav Help

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by GaryW, Jan 27, 2016.

  1. GaryW

    GaryW Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    Fleetwood, Lancashire
    Firstly I must apologise for being a complete technophobe.
    Can anybody assist me by explaining in real easy terms how I download the aires locations from Campingcar Infos onto my sat nav.
    The more I try and understand it the more confused I get.
    Goes on about it having to be in the right format and using a converter etc but I am totally lost.
    Really need someone to just post the correct file already converted with the aires for France, Spain, Germany , Belgium , and Portugal.
    Is that even possible , I don't know.
    If not then please can it be explained in a real easy to understand way.

    Thanks

    Gary
     
  2. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,257
    Likes Received:
    34,514
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Having downloaded the third party POI sets you then need to download and install the POILoader program from Here.

    Then it's just basically a matter of running the program and following the instructions.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. SomeoneElse

    SomeoneElse Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    375
    Location:
    Cotswolds
    Goto to http://www.campercontact.com/en/content/downloads and click "garmin" against the countries you want and the downloaded files will be in the correct format.
    Create a directory called POI and put all the files into it.
    Run the POILoader and select the POI dictory you have just filled.
    Restart you Garmin and the counties will appear under POI in your search.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  4. GaryW

    GaryW Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    Fleetwood, Lancashire
    Thanks guys I will give it a go and see what happens.
     
  5. TUCANO

    TUCANO Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    728
    Location:
    Exiled in Yorkshire
    Once you have managed that can you do it for me also :rolleyes:
     
  6. PeteH

    PeteH Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    2,201
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Hi

    Base Camp; Can you get it for I-pad.? AND if so can it connect to Garmin by Bluetooth?.

    pete
     
  7. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,257
    Likes Received:
    34,514
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Basecamp runs on Windows and Mac. Requirements are at the foot of this page. I think that means "no" to both your questions.
     
Loading...

Share This Page