Garmin 2699 uploading POIs - Help please!

Discussion in 'GPS Navigation' started by ojibway, Apr 30, 2016.

  1. ojibway

    ojibway Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Eastbourne
    I have been following a range of instructions for uploading POIs onto my new Garmin - all helpful but I keep getting brain malfunction!
    I have downloaded CCi POIs as I have used CCi for years and find them great.
    I downloaded 'poiedit' to change the format from ascii to .csv and got my son to help using it.
    Now I am ready (I think) to use the Garmin 'poiloader'. But it fails with a message "there was an unexpected error during transfer of custom POI files"
    Here are images of the process and the files (Germany).
    Can anyone help please? Program Manager1.jpg Program Manager2.jpg Program Manager3.jpg Program Manager4.jpg Program Manager5.jpg error.jpg Allemagne_2016-04-30_18-26-12.jpg
     
  2. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,232
    Likes Received:
    34,419
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Try converting the files to .gpx format. I had problems with .csv but .gpx works fine.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. ojibway

    ojibway Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Eastbourne
  4. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    You don't need to convert the Ascii files, they are already in csv format. All you need to do is rename them, keeping the same file name, but changing the extension to .csv. So AA_CCI.asc becomes AA_CCI.csv.
    By the way, if you install ATOTALES_CCI as well as the others, you are duplicating everything since this file contains all of the others.
    What I do is use just the ATOTALES_CCI file for each country that I want to load. I then rename them completely (e.g. CCI_France.csv, CCI_Belgium.csv) and rename an icon bitmap accordingly (e.g. CCI_France.bmp, CCI_Belgium.bmp). Unfortunately you have to go through a renaming process as well as changing the file extension if loading more than one country since the downloads use exactly the same file name in each country. Hope this is clear.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. ojibway

    ojibway Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Eastbourne
    Thanks JeanLuc,
    I was wondering about ATOTALES_CCI and whether or not to use them
     
  6. ojibway

    ojibway Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Eastbourne
    Hi JeanLuc,
    sorry to be a pain, but I have followed the instructions for converting the .asc files to .csv using just 'renaming' - (right click - Rename - type new name 'CCI_France.csv') and the same for the Bitmaps.
    I renamed all the ATOTALES that I want as you suggest.
    I have also tried this using the PoiEdit with the same result
    When I come to use the POIuploader I get the same "error" notice as before.
    Any ideas?
    Mike CCItotales_2016-05-02_08-58-30.jpg
     
  7. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Not sure about the top file in your list - it seems to be named as an ascii file still. I presume you have added the .csv file extension to the others but it's just not showing in your list.
    Try uploading just the data files (csv) without the bitmap images: I have had trouble with some of these before being in a pixel format that the Garmin does not like.
    Let me know how you get on.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,569
    Likes Received:
    11,547
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    It might be a formatting thing. The POI files I've recently uploaded to my Garmin don't have any header row in them. This is what one of them looks like viewed in Excel:

    7.01023 45.76311 Arc en Ciel
    8.481139 45.9335 Orchidea
    9.12583 46.02529 Darna
    11.81154 46.8081 Gisser
    12.03703 46.77586 Corones
    8.54992 45.81583 Solcio

    Just Longitude, Latitude and the site name. The CamperContact POI file is the same. All are .csv files. If you are able to view your files in Excel check there isn't a row along the top with column names. If there is try deleting it.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,569
    Likes Received:
    11,547
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    I've just tried downloading the CCi ACSII file for Albania and opened one of the .asc files in Notepad. I then did a Save As but changing the file extension to .xls. I then opened the file in Excel which means going through a number of prompts including one where I selected commas as the delimiter. The file now looks like this in Excel:

    19.81674 42.0995 KOMAN Aire CCI 17341
    20.70973 40.90149 POGRADEC Aire CCI 6674
    19.69845 41.47011 FUSHヒ KRUJE Aire CCI 26172
    20.69787 40.89823 BUヌIMAS Aire CCI 26207
    19.54207 41.92365 BARBULUSH Aire CCI 15897
    19.97733 39.93361 NIVICE Bubar Aire CCI 16172
    20.00619 39.77816 KSAMIL Aire CCI 21362
    19.7271 40.10763 HIMARヒ Aire CCI 23698
    19.46563 42.13836 SHKODヒR Aire CCI 24331
    19.47804 41.18216 GOLEM Aire CCI 25696
    19.85848 40.77914 URA VAJGURORE Aire CCI 26208

    Which looks the same as the ACSI POi files which did upload to my Garmin successfully. I'm not entirely sure if they will work as I haven't tried uploading it, there are some weird characters in there, but otherwise it looks promising. It may not be necessary to load it into Notepad but that was a convenient way of renaming.

    Of course the CCi data for each country seems to be made up of several separate .asc files. I'm not sure why that is but I guess you could open each one in turn in Excel and then copy and paste them to make one single file. Seems a bit of a faff and this might be a good time to give CamperContact a go! :)
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2016
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. ojibway

    ojibway Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Eastbourne
    Thanks for that, DBK.
    Have you looked at 'park4night' ?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,569
    Likes Received:
    11,547
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    I've had a look at it but I still find CamperContact easier to use. I think Park4Night probably has more locations but the extras seem to be just basic car parks without facilities, which I'm not keen on as we like waste dumping facilities. The two screen shots below of part of the Pyrenees suggests they both cover the main locations. As always, I don't think there is one perfect app but CamperContact gives us enough choice.

    Park4Night:

    Screenshot_20160502-150810.png
    CamperContact :

    Screenshot_20160502-150730.png
     
  12. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    I used to have the CcI POIs.. on my TomTom..

    changed to Garmin sat nav and now use Campercontact POIs .. find them excellent..
    and no messing about converting file types... there is a separate iConfile

    http://www.campercontact.com/en/content/downloads
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,232
    Likes Received:
    34,419
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    The .asc files are TomTom text format so I doubt a simple rename will work.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. ojibway

    ojibway Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Eastbourne
    Well guys,
    I think I have sorted it!
    I noticed that when the Poiloader asked for the destination (Find Device) it only offered Memory Card (H:\).
    I had bought and plugged in a memory card as the Garmin showed it was 3/4 full.
    I now have removed it and the Poiloader recognised the Garmin device instead and has uploaded without "error" showing up.
    Now all I need to do is use it and see if it actually works.
    Thanks for all your help - and patience(y)
    Mike
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,569
    Likes Received:
    11,547
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    You know, that was the first thing I thought of when I saw your original post, because on my PC the garmin shows up by model name "Nuvi 67" in my case. I should have queried it at the time! But alls well that ends well as some scribbler of old might have said, or possibly even did. :)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...

Share This Page