May 17, 2012
kent
Funster No
MH
C Class??
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi guys,

We are off next July for 1yr touring Europe. What is the best way to access our money - British bank account with lots of fees or can we get a Euro bank account? And how are the Europeans with C/C & for small transactions?
And can anyone tell me when the French schools usually close for summer, I am beginning to think we may be setting off at worst time of year!

spitfire

Free Member
Oct 13, 2010
Correze France
Funster No
MH
Bavaria
Exp
Since 2003
Funds

Yep July and August is school holidays and normally very busy. Roads at weekends at change over are not great. Saying that I am sure you will not be stuck for somewhere to pitch up !! And the weather will be hot or at least it is usually .

We used to have a Nationwide card for sterling withdrawals but not free now :Sad: but Norwich and Peterborough Building Society do not charge but there is a 2 charge from Visa but cheap compared to other banks . We just use it to access UK funds although we obviously have a French bank account. They allowed us to open an account even though we live abroad . A rare thing !! We just had to visit in person with the required paperwork which we did on a visit to family. Might be of interest to Funsters who live abroad ?

WynandJean

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 23, 2010
West Midlands
Funster No
MH
Bailey Autograph 682
Exp
Since 2010
Have you looked at a Caxton Card?

Wyn

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

gaugey

Free Member
Jan 13, 2009
Funster No
Money for Europe

Hi,