Fun keeps freezing

Discussion in 'Website Help' started by Ambilkate, Mar 7, 2014.

  1. Ambilkate

    Ambilkate Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,115
    Likes Received:
    6,725
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Hi Jim and funsters. For the last few weeks been having problems whilst on fun. Have not been able to stay on to long as the pages on threads keep freezing half the page turn a light blue with squares over it and a little box comes up with a little computer face saying fun is not responding. What techi stuff do i need to do to get it working for us?:Smile:
     
  2. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,573
    Likes Received:
    11,552
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    My PC was randomly freezing. I have it set to load essential updates automatically but this did not include graphics driver. There was an nVidia update available which I loaded and it has been fine since.

    So worth checking updates first. If that doesn't work, do the opposite and load an earlier restore point.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,857
    Likes Received:
    14,508
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    I have suffered this too and it got so bad I had to switch to ipad but then that got bad too.
    I figured my broadband had been hacked so changed my router password and been OK last few days since.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Taran_Las

    Taran_Las Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6,480
    Likes Received:
    5,523
    Location:
    Near Mold North Wales
    Try using another browser to see if that cures the problem. I have big problems using MHF with Google. I now have to use Firefox.:cry:
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Ambilkate

    Ambilkate Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,115
    Likes Received:
    6,725
    Location:
    Shropshire
    6 times frozen since I posted :cry::cry: managed to put photo's on I hope.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,857
    Likes Received:
    14,508
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Yes had that over a week
    OK now though
     
  7. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,573
    Likes Received:
    11,552
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    Does it freeze on other sites? I doubt it is related to MHF, probably just coincidence.
     
  8. Ambilkate

    Ambilkate Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,115
    Likes Received:
    6,725
    Location:
    Shropshire

    It only happening on Fun:cry::cry:but will get hubby to check it out
     
  9. Ambilkate

    Ambilkate Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,115
    Likes Received:
    6,725
    Location:
    Shropshire

    Only on Fun. pc ok
     
  10. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,857
    Likes Received:
    14,508
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    I found FUN was the most troublesome out of all the sites I visit, perhaps shows up more if your bandwidth is being stolen.
    I'm on windoze 7 and google chrome. Fine since changing my router password.
     
  11. camocam1

    camocam1 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    784
    Location:
    Elgin,Moray,Scotland
    Been having the same problem on the iPhone and on huddle last few weeks
    Only with fun
     
  12. Ambilkate

    Ambilkate Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,115
    Likes Received:
    6,725
    Location:
    Shropshire
    I'm on windows 7 and google Chrome. We not sure about bandwidth, will investigate thanks
     
  13. Minxy Girl

    Minxy Girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,529
    Likes Received:
    9,901
    Location:
    E Yorks
    Perhaps Jim isn't putting enough £1s in the meter! :Rofl1:
     
    • Like Like x 2
  14. Ambilkate

    Ambilkate Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,115
    Likes Received:
    6,725
    Location:
    Shropshire
    We had problems with google and changed to google chrome.

    I'm not techi at all and worry bout changing things but seriously getting bothered not getting my daily fix of fun lol
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Taran_Las

    Taran_Las Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6,480
    Likes Received:
    5,523
    Location:
    Near Mold North Wales
    Sorry Kate when I said Google I really meant to say Chrome:Doh:
     
  16. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,857
    Likes Received:
    14,508
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Presumably you have a wireless broadband router? just change the password, costs nothing to try. If you've forgotten you should have an I.P. address for your router that you type into your address bar, this gives you access to change the settings. After changing and saving the password you will of course have to log in again with the new one.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Ambilkate

    Ambilkate Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,115
    Likes Received:
    6,725
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Thanks will do, just went of again several times giving up now will try router tommorow. Now where is that bottle of wine i need to chill to much stress lol hopefully be back tommorow:Smile:
     
    • Like Like x 2
  18. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,857
    Likes Received:
    14,508
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    In addition mine only did it in the evening as though the culprit had just got home and started streaming at my expense. It was always ok through the day.
     
  19. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,857
    Likes Received:
    14,508
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Strangely it is doing it again tonight but only since I turned my addblocker off . I've turned it back on and working again :Eeek:
     
  20. MHVirgins

    MHVirgins

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,890
    Likes Received:
    3,165
    Location:
    South of Scotland
    We have a similar problem with "fun" from time to time. When we try to reply to a post, it takes ages for fun to respond or load up. Usually we get a message saying that the website is taking too long to respond:Sad: Possibly "high useage" on MHfun at peak times, between 6 - 8pm, not sure.
    But we think that the problem is down to MHfun, because it is not happening on other sites.


    Bill
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2014

Share This Page