Fridge Usage (1 Viewer)

MarkieMark

Free Member
Sep 7, 2010
North Derbyshire
Funster No
Exp
Complete newbie question so please bear with me....

I have just purchased an 04 Eura Mobil (Fiat Ducato chassis), and it comes with a 'Dometic' fridge which has 3 settings: 240V, 12V and Gas.

I know for hook up 240V is selected, and for travelling 12V is selected, but what is the best for say overnight if not on Hook up? Gas, or will the fridge stay cold overnight (12 hours)?

If I selected Max and 'pre-cooled' the fridge when on hook up before the journey, and then selected 12V for the journey, how long would the fridge stay cold once the engine was turned off (assuming the door was not opened)?. I am trying to guage how efficient the fridge is as when 'out and about' my only power source is a generator (which has to be switched off at night).

Rgds,
Mark

Theonlysue

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 14, 2009
Essex
Funster No
MH
As Executive 50th an
Exp
Not long enough!
Fridge usage.

Hi, I tend to carry a selection of foods and drinks in the fridge, so if I will be stopped for a couple of hours or more, and overnight, I will put the fridge on gas, as I dont want to risk loosing the food, or food poisening!

I would then put it back to 12v when driving.
Would NEVER drive with gas on, or fridge working with gas.

Hope this helps, S.

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
your fridge is most efficient on gas and the consumption is frugal to say the least.

12v will only work when the engine is running and is designed to maintain a given temperature......not lower the temp from ambient to cold.
unless its a compressor fridge.

if you dont open the door at all the fridge will stay cold for at least 24hours but whats the point of having a fridge if you dont open it ?

we use gas even if hookup is available as it cools much better.

the fridge burner should be sealed from the inside of the van so its perfectly save to leave it on all day and night.