Fridge or Oven?

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by Personize, May 5, 2014.

1. Personize

Personize Read Only Funster

Hi Newbie here. Purchased our 1st Motorhome last year, 1992 Ducato Hymer Camp. We have only used it for 1 trip so far! 1st time out we had to turn home after the exhaust fell off! That’s now fixed & MOT’d just need a few small problems ironing out. We cannot totally understand the electrics but I’ll leave that for another day.
    I have just spent 3 weeks removing the old Electrolux fridge, not easy at all, hidden screws & sealer. I had to resort to breaking it up from the inside to remove!!! A replacement Electrolux RM5380 is going to cost £600 + fitting. The question is, do we go ahead & replace the fridge or buy a combicool fridge box . These are 3 way but need sitting outside when using gas. Then we could use the space to fit a oven & hob. Seems this idea is more to our liking but not sure how easy this will be. Your thoughts please.

• Like Like x 1
  2. JeanLuc

JeanLuc Funster

We don't have an oven and have never missed it; for others it seems to be a 'must have'. But we could not manage without a fridge. If you have any plans to take the motorhome abroad, particularly if you plan to use aires, I would have thought a fridge is more important than an oven.

• Like Like x 4
  3. Bellini

Bellini Funster

Agreed. :thumb:

Fridge first. Oven isn't essential but, my opinion, a fridge most definitely is.

• Like Like x 2
  4. Dubiousp

Dubiousp Read Only Funster

Fridge is the 1st for me

5. Fireman Sam

Fireman Sam Funster

fridge

6. lugnutt

lugnutt Funster Life Member

fridge for ...beer
    oven for ...fb pie's

need both:Rofl1::Rofl1:

• Like Like x 1
  7. ourcampersbeentrashed

ourcampersbeentrashed Funster

definitely fridge first xxxx

8. Bluemooner

Bluemooner Funster Life Member

Fridge for me as well

9. Personize

10. mitzimad

mitzimad Funster