Fridge not working on mains

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by icantremember, Aug 6, 2013.

  1. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    7,110
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    This is a Thetford N175 3way fridge which will not cool, or keep cool, on mains electric .... ...there are no "faults" showing.

    The mains element (professionally renewed last week) is heating up and the blue light is on steady but lpg everything works normally:Doh:

    I have tried starting the fridge on gas until cold and then switched to mains but it just warms up ....

    Any suggestions as to the probable cause please.
     
  2. maz

    maz Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,516
    Likes Received:
    2,157
    Location:
    Out there somewhere
    Has the fridge worked ok on mains since the element was professionally renewed? Or is this the first time you've used it since?
     
  3. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    7,110
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Hi Maz, no it hasn't worked since but I was told by Thetford that the problem was due to the "exceedingly high ambient temperatures". The guy that fitted the new element (recommended by Thetford) has been back and cant find a problem! .... he is now coming back again on Sunday, but as we were due to be heading off at the weekend was hoping someone on here may have a solution.
    Brian
     
  4. maz

    maz Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,516
    Likes Received:
    2,157
    Location:
    Out there somewhere
    Ah ok, I was going to suggest that if it hadn't worked since the element was fitted then take it straight back to the fitter. But that's happening anyway. Fingers crossed he finds the problem this time. :Smile:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,472
    Likes Received:
    16,935
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    have you checked the mains thermostat ?

    if the new element is getting hot then it is working, but may be set too low and not able to maintain a cold temperature.
    the installer may have turned it down to check the new elements operation.

    mains and gas thermostats should be independent of each other.
     
  6. WillH

    WillH Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    1,288
    Location:
    SW Scotland
    Power card.
     
  7. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    7,110
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Hi John, I understand that there is only one thermostat in this fridge and that covers both gas and mains electric.

    The mains element is certainly working but I reckon the guy has not got it fully home into its housing ... I can't think of anything else so looks like the fridge has to come out again to check it.:Doh:
     
  8. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,472
    Likes Received:
    16,935
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    does your model have the fault code option in the LCD panel ?

    if so are any codes shown ?
     
  9. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    7,110
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    It has the fault code option but no codes showing.

    I know that the heater element sits in a tubular housing and the only thing that comes to mind is that the engineer has not pushed it fully in (in the nicest possible sense of the meaning:Wink:).

    The next job therefore is to remove the fridge again so I can check this out.:cry:
     
  10. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,472
    Likes Received:
    16,935
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    no code certainly points to it working correctly as far as its primary purpose is concerned, but as you say it may not be in the correct position.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. johnp10

    johnp10 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,642
    Likes Received:
    14,204
    Location:
    North Lincolnshire
    A bit basic, but worth a try....
    My fridge on hook up still needs the 12v system live in order to work.
    No specific fridge switch, just the 12v switched on at the control panel.
     
  12. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    7,110
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Mine is the same and 12v is working so kinda rules that out but thanks.
     
  13. FULL TIMER

    FULL TIMER Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    712
    Location:
    NORWICH
    another thing to try if yours has one is the little temperature sensor that is clipped to the heat exchanger vains inside the fridge, normally attached to the third or fourth vain in from the right, looks like a little square grey block, it simply unplugs. this detects the temperature on the vanes to prevent ice build up and in normal operation sets the fridge into auto defrost mode until the ice has thawed, if this is not working correctly obviously the fridge won't cool down. had to change the one on my old fridge the N180 about 5 times.
     
  14. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    7,110
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    The only other thing that that has occurred to me is that the guy fitting the element leaned the fridge over to about 30deg from vertical while working on it .... do you think that could that have caused a problem?
     
  15. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    7,110
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    That would be the thermistor, I don't think that is the problem this time as it is working on gas.

    In fact the thermistor has failed previously and then the fridge just froze everything including my beers but as you say was very simple to replace.

    Thanks for your input.
     
  16. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,472
    Likes Received:
    16,935
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    very doubtful.
    it would prevent it working WHILE he was working on it but once upright it would work OK.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. malheg

    malheg Funster

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    North Wales
    Fridge problem

    We had a problem with our fridge not working on our drive before a trip, but OK on gas.
    Returned to dealer who checked out and said all working. As a aside said are you parked on a slope. Reply yes, man said that is the problem.
    Now park van level and all working OK.

    Malc
     
  18. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    7,110
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Thanks for that but the m/h is parked on dead level and has always worket there in the past. brian
     
  19. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,223
    Likes Received:
    9,604
    Location:
    Dorset
    are you certain he fitted the correct size element and it is located correctly. they come in various sizes and wattage for differing models now unlike the early ones.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    7,110
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Good point, the first time he arrived he had the wrong element and had to come back:Doh:
     
Loading...

Share This Page