Free Member
Aug 28, 2012
Suffolk
Funster No
MH
coach built
Exp
I'm new to it
Mark has just come across a rather worrying article concerning FreeView weak signals (often happens when out and about ...) and the new G4 phone system ...

Click here to have a read of it

It looks as though the signal will effectively destroy weak FreeView signals, and they are being very nice and giving free sat to affected households, but I guess they aren't going to do that for motor homes :-(

I quote from the article :

"The 4G Freeview Fail as we’ve termed it refers to the fact that 4G mobile services, when they arrive on the 800MHz band of radio spectrum, will interfere with and disrupt Freeview broadcasts.

The 4G Freeview Fail could hundreds of thousands of homes from getting Freeview, forcing them to install signal amplifiers if they’re to continue watching Freeview."

callumwa

Free Member
Jan 16, 2011
Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
4 yrs +, 30+ yrs motorbike touring
Mark has just come across a rather worrying article concerning FreeView weak signals (often happens when out and about ...) and the new G4 phone system ...

Click here to have a read of it

It looks as though the signal will effectively destroy weak FreeView signals, and they are being very nice and giving free sat to affected households, [HI]but I guess they aren't going to do that for motor homes :-([/HI]

I quote from the article :

"The 4G Freeview Fail as we’ve termed it refers to the fact that 4G mobile services, when they arrive on the 800MHz band of radio spectrum, will interfere with and disrupt Freeview broadcasts.

The 4G Freeview Fail could hundreds of thousands of homes from getting Freeview, forcing them to install signal amplifiers if they’re to continue watching Freeview."

Another "potential" reason why Satellite TV for the van is a good idea......:thumb:

DuxDeluxe

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 10, 2008
Planet Zog
Funster No
MH
A woosh bang van
Exp
since 2008