Freesat/Sky

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by bailey, Oct 12, 2010.

  1. bailey

    bailey

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    Airdrie Scotland
    I have just purchased a freesat box for the motor Home and use the dish Fantastic My Question is i have Sky in the house and i am p****** of with the Monthly subsciptions for next year i intend to get the all singing HD Freesat box as i have the old Sky Installation will i have to run more coax from the dish for HD and change the lnb

    Bill
     
  2. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    You can just use the standard SKY dish. I felt the same as you paying £40+ a month for programs I rarely watched. I bought an HD Freesat box connected it to the sky coax and now receive HD BBC and ITV with no trouble

    Lunarman
     
  3. johng

    johng Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent/Sussex UK
    hi all... can someone tell me what I will get with this box, using the dish I have set for normal sky (I paid a £20 one off for a card, which gives me the normal free sky stuff)

    how much are the boxes? ..

    the TV is HD, so if this box will decode that, then it would be great :thumb:
     
  4. wivvy's dad

    wivvy's dad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1,807
    Location:
    48.066895,12.862673
    Freesat boxes start at about £80, and fit right onto the end of your existing satellite feed - no need to change anything. Just plug-n-play as they say.

    Best thing I ever did over a year ago, stopped giving that barsteward Murdoch any more of my hard-earned.
     
  5. bailey

    bailey

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    Airdrie Scotland
    I Thought that in order to get HD on freesat you would have to have a dual LNB

    tHANKS
     
  6. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
  7. wivvy's dad

    wivvy's dad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1,807
    Location:
    48.066895,12.862673
    Nope, just go to the HD channels.




    The Beeb is rolling out much more HD content right across the board fairly soon, but that is actually a secret, and you didn't hear it from me, no Siirreeeee
     
  8. johng

    johng Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent/Sussex UK
    thanks all :)

    so, £80, already have a quad lnb, and I will get the free HD channels, and most, all of the free non HD ones I get now, (sky 3, E4, C5 etc)

    :thumb:

    .. another question.. does an £80 freesat box have any recording capability?
     
  9. wivvy's dad

    wivvy's dad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1,807
    Location:
    48.066895,12.862673
    You won't get Sky on Freesat, but you will - of course - if you keep your Sky box going
     
  10. johng

    johng Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent/Sussex UK
    ahh .. ok thanks Wivvy's dad..

    so use the freesat box mainly for HD stuff... google is my friend, I will see what channels actually are on freesat..
     
  11. johng

    johng Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent/Sussex UK
    ok looked at the channel listing.. freesat does the handful of channels I watch :thumb: so a freesat+ box would record.. this is perfect, thanks


    .....


    but £200 ... :( - I really want to be able to record, as I am rarely near the tv ;) .. hmm.. second hand box on ebay maybe...
     
  12. slobadoberbob

    slobadoberbob Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Kent, garden of England
    have you considered

    Have you considered a free to air saterlite system? more channels.

    Bob
     
  13. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,536
    Likes Received:
    5,587
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    I would think not
    A Humax HD Recorder (works like a Sky Box) record one while watching another, re wind live TV etc
    retails around £220.00
     
  14. bailey

    bailey

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    Airdrie Scotland
    That was my next Q what is the best Freesat Box for Home i did hear good comments about Humax also how can you use the Sky box if you cancel the subsciption

    Bill
     
  15. Stewart J

    Stewart J Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,447
    Likes Received:
    1,251
    Location:
    SW Northumberland
    You'll need a freesat box with a hard disc drive, then you can watch one and recorder another channel/s (some allow recording 2 channels I believe) I think you'll need to double your budget but its a one off payment.

    Tesco's have some offers on at the mo heres one of the better models:-

    http://direct.tesco.com/q/R.207-9326.aspx


    ATB

    Stewart
     
  16. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,536
    Likes Received:
    5,587
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    That one is not a recorder is it??
     
  17. novawight

    novawight Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    Hayling Island
    you can get a humax box with recorder, but you will have to a dual coax from dish , i think i am right on saying this but technology moves so quick these days might well be out of date
     
  18. Dodgey

    Dodgey Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,603
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Gone RVing
    Yup, feed out of the LNB per tuner, ie a freesat box that can record one channel while you watch another has two tuners hence a twin LNB required, typical of the sky+ setup, or if you already have sky+ and go freesat plug and play in theory.
     
  19. Gonewiththewind

    Gonewiththewind Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Correction mate ARGOS do a FreeSat Box For £29:Rofl1:

    Don
     
  20. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    Not HD though. HD one £69.99
     
Loading...

Share This Page