Freesat Receiver / inverter

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Brian_K, Aug 29, 2015.

  1. Brian_K

    Brian_K Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    246
    Location:
    Durham
    I’m taking my first tentative steps in satellite reception, as such I’ve purchased a Bush Freesat HD receiver (model number FSATHD).

    This is a 240v unit, although only seems to draw 20w in use and 5w on standby.

    I was thinking of buying one of these: http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/2266488.htm

    Would this do the job, or am I going to need a pure sign wave inverter?

    Brian
     
  2. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,497
    Likes Received:
    3,696
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    Personally I would not waste my money on that product. Firstly it is a lighter socket and whilst may not draw much in the way of amps, unless you know that the wiring on the other side of the socket is up to drawing high amps for long periods I would shy away......
    Go for a good 300watt inverter thats connects direct to battery / batteries with an ON/OFF switch. That way you have a future proof system.
     
  3. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,475
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Brian_K

    Brian_K Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    246
    Location:
    Durham
    I thought it had an external step down (even did some research - which said it did). Must be a newer model as the 240v lead goes straight into the back of the box.

    This is the model: http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/2462323.htm

    I'm happy to go with a 300w inverter (the TV is just above the batteries), but should it be pure sine wave or will modified do the job?

    Brian
     
  5. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,475
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
  6. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,497
    Likes Received:
    3,696
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    My word thats a lot of money..............
     
  7. Brian_K

    Brian_K Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    246
    Location:
    Durham
  8. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,475
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    They appear around the £80 mark occasionally on ebay and it is very handy being able to record. It still works if you only have one LNB as I do but you have to be sure it is on the channel you want.
     
  9. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,497
    Likes Received:
    3,696
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Brian_K

    Brian_K Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    246
    Location:
    Durham
    Thanks guys, but given what I have at the moment, do I go PSW or modified for the inverter.

    Brian
     
  11. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,475
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Modified will work it fine
     
  12. Brian_K

    Brian_K Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    246
    Location:
    Durham
    (y)

    Brian
     
  13. Brian_K

    Brian_K Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    246
    Location:
    Durham
    Well, been pra@@ing about with this thing all night (on EHU), lots of squeaks and squarks, nothing on the TV.

    I feel a Snipe coming on, life's too short.

    Brian
     
  14. dpsuk999

    dpsuk999 Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    Leeds
  15. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,475
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Yes you need at least 1mbps broadband or wifi
     
  16. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,475
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Brian_K

    Brian_K Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    246
    Location:
    Durham
  18. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,475
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
  19. dpsuk999

    dpsuk999 Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    Leeds
  20. Brian_K

    Brian_K Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    246
    Location:
    Durham
    Thanks Andy, I think the single LNB will meet my needs.

    My non UK stomping ground, for the most part, is through Holland to just over the border into Germany down to a little south of Luxembourg and back to Calais - anybody know if the Snipe will pick up Astra 2 in this local?

    Brian
     
Loading...

Share This Page