Aaronn

Free Member
Apr 2, 2013
Northern Ireland
Funster No
MH
Bailey 760
Exp
Hi all. We are traveling to France on 22nd June starting at Belfast on the 10.30pm Liverpool boat arriving at Liverpool at 6.30am. I am hoping the journey to Folkeston will take around 7hours or less so arriving in Calais by Le Shuttle around 2.30pm. After that I have no plans apart from needing to be back in Belfast for 5th July.

So as a newbie I need some serious advise on where to go and where to stay. I will be accompanied by three lovey ladies (my misses, 18 and 15year old daughters) the only instructions I have been given is that I must provide lots of sunshine so they can get a tan!! As I can't guarantee the sun I need to increase my chances and probably travel south? I'm keen that we get to experience true France but I am also aware that younger members of the family might like part of the holiday to be more what they are used to (typical package type holiday)

Any advice on places to stay, go and how long it takes as I'm also not keen on full days driving so the girls don't get borded...:Cool:

steveclecy

Free Member
Jun 10, 2009
Wirral
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
Since June 2009
Starting off with basics your estimate of travel time from Liverpool (I'm guessing Birkenhead) to the Channel Tunnel Terminal is quite reasonable- I have done it comfortably in 6 hours with stops.

Do you have an ACSI card? Although your profile does not fit their 12/14/16 Euro per night off peak package (children) it will give you a good choice of sites for your journey.

Download the POIs to your Satnav (assuming you have one) and when you feel you have done enough driving search for the nearest ones.

Best of luck - I'm sure you will have a great time. We leave for France 9 days earlier.

Steve

haganap

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2007
planet earth
Funster No
MH
Carthago C Tourer
Exp
I'm an oldbie MH number 9
Hit the surf beaches down the south west of France.