France - to book or not to book?

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by Humphrey Hymer, Dec 31, 2012.

1. Humphrey Hymer

Humphrey Hymer Read Only Funster

Just got our first motorhome and intending to go to France this August. We are thinking of Eurotunnel and exploring eastern France down to the Alps. Would I be best off to plan an itinery and book up sites in advance or just play it by ear and go with the flow? Many thanks.

2. Reallyretired

Reallyretired Funster

Don't book, it limits your flexibility and, I always find it stressful if I have to be at a particular place at a particular time. The places you find by accident are always the best anyway.

I have been touring France for around 30 years and have never booked anything and never had a problem.

• Like Like x 9
  3. lesleyjean

lesleyjean Funster

Never been to France in August. But!

The French take their annual leave in August and the roads and sites I believe are quite busy.

Cannot really advise you, but thought I would throw a spanner:BigGrin::BigGrin:

• Like Like x 6
  4. tonka

tonka Funster Life Member

France ! August !
    I have never been and would not like to then... As said the French all take their holidays so it's busy.... If there is somewhere particular you want to visit I would book. Any other time of the year apart from August just go, never had any issues with getting a placement.

5. lorger

lorger Funster

Hi and welcome to fun

We go every year in July or August due to School holidays and have never book a site in France sine we had the motorhome. We did the eastern side a couple of years back and ended up at Annecy we didn't book a site all we did was pick about 10 site and let our daughter and her friend put them in order 1 to 10 and said we would try number one and if full go down the list this was first week of August and we got into first site.