forced browser update

Discussion in 'Computers' started by pappajohn, Mar 6, 2010.

  1. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    anyone else having a second choice of browser forced on them by the EU.

    this came with the last Microsoft windows update and came about after a legal battle between the EU and Microsoft concerning Microsoft's dominance of the browser market.

    EU 'v' MICROSOFT

    it wont go away until you select a second, none-Microsoft browser as your default browser whether you want one or not :Angry:.

    if you don't use internet explorer as your default browser you wont get the screen.

    if anyone knows where the software file location is so it can be removed please let me know.

    take note of the second paragraph in 'criticism'
     
  2. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    thanks for the link jim but its a bit like me performing brain surgery in a dark room.....100% sure to cock it up and kill my lappy.:Sad:
     
  4. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,260
    Likes Received:
    34,540
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    The option to pick a second browser came up on the netbook but it hasn't on this machine. Had a look at Chrome but then deleted it.

    I've just left the shortcut icon on the desktop and it doesn't nag me when I switch the netbook on. Isn't there a check-box to stop the nag? I thought I'd noticed one.

    Graham
     
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    it appears every time the machine is stated and there is no option to delete.

    i suppose the easiest way would be to select a second browser (which will stop the selection screen) and never use it but that defeats the object of having a personal choice:Angry:
     
  6. imprint

    imprint Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,090
    Likes Received:
    11
    Your question might have been written in Aramaic for all I could make of it, so I slung it three feet to the Senior Partner.

    She writes :

    "Look at this thread from avantbrowser (best browser on the web!!!). Microsoft has been forced into this by the EU. For people who use several browsers it won't make any difference but for those using IE I can see it could be an annoyance! I blame the politicians!!

    http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=26970"

    Hope this means something to you clever lot. I'll stick to things I think I understand like a carburettor. Tell me, is that a "car burette", meaning a measuring device on a car, or a carbon urethra, something which pees in the carbon?



     
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    i'll opt for the measuring/metering device..:BigGrin:

    thanks for the link.:thumb:
     
  8. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,260
    Likes Received:
    34,540
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Just had a look on the netbook, John, and think I have the answer.

    When you get the screen up with the various browsers listed, don't click on the "I'll Choose Later" (or whatever it says) button. Instead, use the X in the top right hand corner to close the window. I've done that and don't get the nag screen on restart.

    Graham
     
  9. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    got rid of it.:thumb:

    its an EXE file.

    (windows XP home) anyone wanting rid click 'start' then 'run'

    in the 'run' dialog box type... C:\WINDOWS\system32\browserchoice.exe
    then click ok.

    that will take you to the file location.
    right click on the file and click 'delete' (make sure its the correctly spelt one)

    then delete the desktop icon and empty the waste bin.

    seems to have worked for me as a search cant find the file and on re-boot the window doesnt appear. :thumb:
     
  10. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,260
    Likes Received:
    34,540
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    I've just used the same procedure as mentioned in my last post on the laptop, which runs Vista (netbook is XP).

    Don't use the laptop very much at the moment but this thread reminded me that I hadn't updated it for a while so I switched it on to do so and one of the updates was the Browser Choice.

    No nag screen on start-up but I have the shortcut on the desktop as an easy route to other browsers if I ever fancy giving one a try.

    Graham
     
  11. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    it could be time dependant Graham, just as software registration screens keep popping up from time to time if you dont register the program.

    my way has deleted the whole EXE file from the 'puter so it will never reappear unless the next update carries it, then ill delete the whole file again. :thumb:
     
  12. motorhomer

    motorhomer Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    317
    Location:
    South Shropshire
    I already have IE and 2 other browsers!

    This message came following the last windows update, which you do NOT have to install (unless your system is set to install automatically). I would suggest not installing it!

    However if you do, my experience is that you do not have to install another browser. If you select IE, even if it is already the default, it then tells you it is already installed but the message then goes away.
     
  13. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    true, but the download is for IE8 which is supposed to be troublesome and crap :RollEyes:
     
  14. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,260
    Likes Received:
    34,540
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    As some know I experienced a problem with IE8 on Vista due to inadequate testing by Microsoft but I did get a workaround and hopefully they've fixed the error now. Haven't heard of any other IE8 problems but do only have it installed on the Vista laptop - which, as said yesterday, isn't used all that much.

    You could be right about time dependancy. Time will tell :Smile:

    Personally I think it will be a bug due to inadequate testing, as with the IE8 problem I experienced. Microsoft will expect people to either install a browser or click on "Select Later". They will not expect people to use a third option, as I did.

    I should think that the code tests for use of the Select Later button and, if it isn't clicked on, defaults to not showing the nag screen.

    What it should do, of course, is to check all of the valid Install options as well to ensure that at least one is chosen before it decides not to show the nag screen - but that, of course would take more testing as well as more coding :BigGrin:

    Graham
     
  15. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    wouldnt take much to add a 'no thanks' button though.:Doh:
     
  16. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,260
    Likes Received:
    34,540
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Yes it would - it would take thinking about :Laughing:

    Why do so many computer systems go wrong? Because they are designed by humans who don't think about what is actually required properly :Eeek::Doh:

    Graham
     
Loading...

Share This Page