Fon

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by irnbru, Oct 31, 2015.

  1. irnbru

    irnbru Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    5,329
    Likes Received:
    9,686
    Location:
    Glasgow
    So now that Ive ordered an iboost I have started reading a little about this thing called Fon. Heres some Qs

    Im getting rid of my landline so cant share a landline connection.
    I think I can see a few options here.

    1. I would have to pay non member access fees
    2. I could buy the router and plug it into mums landline
    3. I have a mifi with 3gb so probably wouldnt use it that much so what if I borrowed a friends details on the odd occasion I wanted to log in?

    Im just an internet surfer really but is there limits on data you are allowed to use?

    I want to know as much about this product now as possible before buying it.
     
  2. davidbaldam

    davidbaldam Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    6,464
    Location:
    Market Harborough
    Sandra, I think the best is to connect it to your Mums landline not sure if there is a limit on data as I only use mine when on the move and then just for a few minutes at a time. Hope this helps and the cost is only a few pounds . (y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. irnbru

    irnbru Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    5,329
    Likes Received:
    9,686
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Thanks David. another Q can you pick up malware, viruses etc through using other folks connections. I dont have anything installed on my tablet at the moment as I THINK TalkTalk deal with keeping my network secure at the moment.
     
  4. andy63

    andy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,847
    Likes Received:
    6,435
    Location:
    south shields
    Another for jeans landlines.
    Option one is way too expensive.
    Don't think you can use mobile wifi data allowance for fon but others might know better.
    Andy.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. davidbaldam

    davidbaldam Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    6,464
    Location:
    Market Harborough
    Your tablet should keep all the pesties at bay, that what I use as well and "touch wood" have been alright so far. Having said all that I've found the network in France to be a bit patchy but I still think fon is worth a punt at that price and the iBoost is a great bit of kit and works great in this country allowing you to connect more than one device at a time, so worth it for that alone. (y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    I thought the idea of this I boost thing was that you could piggy back any wifi that's out there without subscribing to anything, definitely wouldn't subscribe to fon, although others on here say they connect to it ok , I have only found one fon spot in three years of searching.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. irnbru

    irnbru Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    5,329
    Likes Received:
    9,686
    Location:
    Glasgow
    I believe the iboost lets you connect to free wifi but for Fon you need a username and password. Just been trying to learn about it today.
     
  8. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,241
    Likes Received:
    5,034
    Location:
    West Sussex
    As long as your Fon router is connected to the internet via a router in your case your mums you should be able to access Fon connections.
    Although in practice there is no data limit when connected via someone's Fon router they have priority over bandwidth, so if they are streaming you will get a very slow connection.
    The Fon is firewalled from their network so it is safe for both parties.
    Used our Fon access mostly in France. During the last year it I have found it times out after about an hour and you have to log in again, always at the most inconvenient moment.
    Had a couple of fast Fon connections, but generally it can be quite slow, wouldn't want to use it for every day use.
    Fon is much more available in the UK walk down any road and you will pick up loads of connects.
    No subscription needed just a one purchase of a Fon router about €30.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. irnbru

    irnbru Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    5,329
    Likes Received:
    9,686
    Location:
    Glasgow
    So where do I buy this Fon and what happens to mums existing router? Technology moves so fast and strangely enough Ive not moved with it .
     
  10. Allanm

    Allanm Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    3,035
    Likes Received:
    4,106
    Location:
    Cotes d'armor, France
    The Fon router plugs into your ( or your Mums) router, you shouldnt pick up any malware etc, as long as your anti virus ( and I assume you use TalkTalks built in one) is up to date.
    You are then free to use internet access provided by Fon, here and abroad. Access isn't available everywhere, but with an iBoost, you should pick up signals from a few Kms away, if the conditions are right.
    Paying for non member access is expensive, and using someone else's details is ok-ish ( but something I would never do) so, buy the Fon router, it's pretty cheap, and you are helping to grow a fantastic service and you have free access with no guilty feelings.
    I have to log into Fon every hour or so, but you can save your log in info or use the Fon app, that way, it logs back in automatically when you need to.

    http://fonera.fon.com/help.html
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  11. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Don't think that is strictly true, if you have a fon router , maybe, but the fon connects you get here are mostly through bt and you have to be subscribing to them.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,241
    Likes Received:
    5,034
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Not trying hard enough, every where in the UK hard to find a road without a Fon, bit more difficult in France but there are plenty, even found some in Greece. Came unstuck in Belgium plenty of Fon connections but on the providers log in page could find a way of logging in unless you were a sucriber to there network.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,241
    Likes Received:
    5,034
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Fon is an independent Spanish company BT are only there partner in the UK. I have a Fon router I don't have anything with BT and have no problems logging on to Fon connections.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  14. Chockswahay

    Chockswahay Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,095
    Likes Received:
    4,767
    Eh? We have recently taken BT Broadband and FON is inclusive and free of charge :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. irnbru

    irnbru Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    5,329
    Likes Received:
    9,686
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Yes BT is part of Fon , that's why its free for you @chockswahay
     
  16. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,241
    Likes Received:
    5,034
    Location:
    West Sussex
    But if you are not on BT you can just buy a Fon router and use your normal internet connection for us works out cheaper than BT prices.

    Fon site
     
    • Like Like x 2
  17. andy63

    andy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,847
    Likes Received:
    6,435
    Location:
    south shields
    There is a link on mhw site to the fon site where you can purchase the fonera..takes a few days to arrive from Spain I think.. comes with simple instructions on how to set things up... Once set up you can connect to any fon hotpot using any wifi device like your phone or the I boost..
    I just don't see the sense in not having that option if you get an I boost.
    Andy
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,241
    Likes Received:
    5,034
    Location:
    West Sussex
    BT is not part of Fon they are just their UK partner like SFR are in France. Fon is a Spanish company.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  19. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    We have bt and when you log into wifi at home there is always a fon connection in the list, you can connect to it but it just sits there and does nothing, you can't use it, admitted it does work out and about in uk, but not on your own router don't know why , anyone I've asked about it gets the same.
    It's an absolute pain at times if something that connects automatically somehow connects to the fon connection as what ever you are useing says it's connected but won't do anything, till you realise, " oh no it's that bloody fon again"
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,241
    Likes Received:
    5,034
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Delete it from your network connections then it shouldn't connect without asking.
    Doesn't happen with a separate Fon router I can connect to mine.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page