Fon unit to give away

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Mags52, Jun 26, 2014.

  1. Mags52

    Mags52 Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,060
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Location:
    Bathgate West Lothian
    Hi All,
    I have a slightly scruffy fon unit looking for a new home. I don't need it anymore because we've gone over to BT. I don't have the instructions any more but you can get them online.
    If anyone would like it please PM me with your name and address and I'll send it.
    Mags
     
  2. sdc77

    sdc77 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2,898
    Location:
    East london
    Pm sent
     
  3. timdownieuk

    timdownieuk Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    326
    Location:
    Ayr
    Argh! 24hrs too late! ;-) Just ordered one yesterday. I think you should hang on to it though, you might move away from BT sometime in the future and you'll lose you worldwide FON access without it.

    Tim
     
  4. Wildbill

    Wildbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    7,101
    Likes Received:
    12,092
    Location:
    goole
    watt is a fon unit?
     
  5. Mags52

    Mags52 Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,060
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Location:
    Bathgate West Lothian
    ... and it's gone.
    I don't think I have the right words to explain what it is to Billthedrill but someone will be along that can I'm sure.
    Mags
     
  6. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,512
    Likes Received:
    4,773
    Location:
    Guisborough
    Hi Bill

    hopefully I know what I am talking about.

    If you are not a BT broadband customer you are limited to the wi-fi hot spots that you can log on to (if BT by default they share your broadband via wi-fi with antbody who might be outside your hose, all secure though). If you buy a Fon unit for about £30 you then plug it into your broadband router at home and register on the Fon web site, set it all up with username and password etc. The Fon unit then puts a bit of your broadband bandwidth up as a wi-fi hot spot for anybody nearby to use for this small concession you get to use anybodies wi-fi that is showing as BT Fon or SFR Fon (French) etc etc.

    A wi-fi booster is handy for pulling signals from far away, we have been on Stratford racecourse for a week with fast wi-fi from the flat opposite.

    Hope this makes sense.

    Martin
     
  7. Wildbill

    Wildbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    7,101
    Likes Received:
    12,092
    Location:
    goole
  8. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,512
    Likes Received:
    4,773
    Location:
    Guisborough
    Sorry Bill, no you dont need a BT account the Fon side of things negates the need for BT.

    Martin
     
  9. Wildbill

    Wildbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    7,101
    Likes Received:
    12,092
    Location:
    goole
  10. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,351
    Likes Received:
    21,736
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    All you need is a broadband account for your home.
    The FON unit plugs in to the home modem..

    That unit will allow other people who are in range to use WiFi through your home broadband system
    And once you sign up your Fon unit you will be able to access the internet anywhere that someone else has a Fon unit using THEIR connection :thumb:..
     
Loading...

Share This Page