FON network - to access, do you need to have your home router operating?

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by Hagstrom, Jul 12, 2016.

  1. Hagstrom

    Hagstrom Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Well, I guess the nub is in the title. I'm in the FON scheme where I allocate 10% of my home router's capacity to the FON network in exchange for access anywhere else in Europe where I can detect a FON router.

    It's never seemed to work for me in France or Spain but is that because when I'm travelleing my home router is switched off and the FON scheme can detect this?

    Norman
     
  2. Puddleduck

    Puddleduck Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    6,456
    Likes Received:
    13,751
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    I can access FON in the UK when I've switched off the home hub.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. irnbru

    irnbru Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    5,324
    Likes Received:
    9,681
    Location:
    Glasgow
    I think I read somewhere if you have BT WITH Fon it isn't detected if it's offline but if you have a Fon router it must be plugged in to access the network.
     
  5. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,455
    Likes Received:
    4,704
    Location:
    Guisborough
    I think this could be right, ours wasn't working one time and a switch off and reboot sorted it, I can get it to work in France sometimes but there are not that many SFR Fon spots.

    Martin

    Should have added ours is switched on while we are away.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  6. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,137
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Mines on , but never got any sense out of fon
     
  7. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,278
    Likes Received:
    12,108
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    same here, works well in some places around UK, but never yet got it abroad. but a 3 mifi now is so cheap we wouldn't bother looking (y)
     
  8. TJBi

    TJBi Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    West Midlands
    There are over 4 million SFR Fon spots in France, so quite a respectable number. However, it is worth noting that there is a tendency for people in small hamlets or isolated country dwellings to remain with the legacy provider, Orange (formerly France Telecom), either due to inertia or perhaps because other providers are not interested in serving remote country exchanges. I am normally able to find an SFR Fon connection in large villages, small towns and larger urban areas. I find that the ideal location is a central square or other parking area with residential premises around it. Having said all that, I was surprised and delighted on my latest trip to find SFR Fon at a couple of remote France Passion sites.
     
  9. Camdoon

    Camdoon Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    365
    Location:
    UK
    The price of a 3 data sim, its convenience and coverage are tending to make clunky Fon connections less attractive. My Fon router is off and I never use abroad only using if really stuck in the UK.
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2016
Loading...

Share This Page