Fon, again still won't work

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by chaser, Feb 22, 2015.

  1. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    7,750
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    i know we've been here many times and iv really give up on it as there is plenty free wi fi about now without it, but just thought I'd have one more go at it, when I connect to it , it says connected and excelent connection and the wifi thingy shows on the top bar, but when I try to use it ,I get a message to connect to the Internet or no connection and nothing will work and if I do a speed test,there's nothing there, can anyone tell me what's wrong with it. I get this on android tablet and iPad and my phones. Can't understand it.
     
  2. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    7,750
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    By the way I'm talking bt fon here
     
  3. DP_JAY

    DP_JAY Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    1,022
    Location:
    Cark, Cumbria
    Have you got the BT wifi app?
    I find logging in via the app is easiest
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    7,750
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Yeah that does work , but it's not the fon connection.
     
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,963
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    You are connecting to a wifi unit, Not the internet.
    your router will need configuring to the bt fon internet settings.
    If you dont agree to sharing your connection (a very small portion and seperate from your own connection) you cant use other bt customers wifi
    have you registered with bt to enable free wifi/fon.
    go to the accounts page on the bt website and click 'my extras'

    Their website is woefully lacking in any kind of simplicity.

    Sorry i cant help further as its quite some time since i registered.


    Sorry, just seen your post above....i thought you meant wifi.
     
  6. DP_JAY

    DP_JAY Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    1,022
    Location:
    Cark, Cumbria
    Oh, when I connect via the app it says connected to BT wifi with fon?
     
  7. Mattyjwr

    Mattyjwr Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    3,132
    Location:
    Beds
    Have you tried opening a web page and if so, do you get the screen saying welcome to BT something and click below to log in? We have to do that when using it and it works well for us.
     
  8. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,963
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    You should only have to do that at the first use...once logged in it remains logged in.

    I tried the bt app but couldnt get on with it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Mattyjwr

    Mattyjwr Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    3,132
    Location:
    Beds
    I have to do that every time I log onto Fon. If I don't, all I get is the broadband signal indicator but no connection.
     
  10. carolyn

    carolyn Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    1,603
    Location:
    Sherborne Dorset
    I think it was devonbeekeeper who discovered that the bt phone line email address must be the same as the bt broadband email. Lots of us probably still get our bills attached to an old email address rather than the bt broadband email. I am going to try to change it before our next trip. Not sure if that's what he meant mind.
     
  11. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,963
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Appologies, i keep refering to bt wifi.
    dont think ive ever used bt fon.
    if i cant find either free or bt wifi hotspot i just go online via my phone provider.
    if i have no phone internet signal then tough...it aint the end of the world.
     
  12. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,963
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Thats it !!!!!

    Our line account email was different to our bb account mail address.
    the line was in Shirls email, @aol.com, and the bb was in mine, @btinternet.
    i had to change the line email to my bt mail address to get it sorted.

    Doesnt matter to us which email address either line or bb are in.
     
  13. Mattyjwr

    Mattyjwr Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    3,132
    Location:
    Beds
    My phone network is with O2 and it is often faster for me to walk the streets until I find a Fon signal than wait for O2 to provide an Internet connection.
     
  14. Bertie Bassett

    Bertie Bassett Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    2,743
    Likes Received:
    8,714
    With the BT app on android......can't speak for the Fruit Farm, I connect continually to BT wifi/Fon call it what you will. Don't have to log in anymore it just does everything automatically. In city centres and totally unlikely places like villages in the Cotswolds I am rarely without wifi. As PappaJ has already said you must have all your details with BT up to date or it simply doesn't work.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,963
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    My mifi is/was on giffgaff......they use the 02 carrier.
    load of rubbish up our way.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Bertie Bassett

    Bertie Bassett Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    2,743
    Likes Received:
    8,714
    Giff Gaff on 02 down here in SE Wales total load of rubbish here too, also at my workplace 122 miles away total waste of time. The carriers primary concern is the carriers own customers not the customers of organisations like Giff Gaff as I've found to my cost.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Mattyjwr

    Mattyjwr Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    3,132
    Location:
    Beds
    I believe that pure O2 is better than the likes of Giff Gaff on O2 based on my attempts to call my wife while standing next to her; she is on Giff Gaff and I am on O2 - my wife's phone went straight to voicemail with no signal while I had 3 bars.

    However, all will change as she and I are both moving to EE :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Bertie Bassett

    Bertie Bassett Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    2,743
    Likes Received:
    8,714
    Or BT as it will be called shortly Matty:Eeek:
     
  19. Mattyjwr

    Mattyjwr Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    3,132
    Location:
    Beds
    I just hope that it will stay better than the poor network that O2 provides.
     
  20. Bertie Bassett

    Bertie Bassett Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    2,743
    Likes Received:
    8,714
    True . I find the BT wifi/Fon thing brilliant and we have fibre optic now out in the Welsh countryside at 30 megs so I can't complain though it's not the most user friendly organisation is it. We have to use a Voda Sure Signal box at home which swallows a Gig and a half but once again can't complain works a treat for us.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. BusyBuilder
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    288
  2. chaser
    Replies:
    26
    Views:
    619
  3. Dazzlin
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    286
  4. chaser
    Replies:
    25
    Views:
    616
  5. John Rowe
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    819

Share This Page