First trip overseas

Discussion in 'Continental Touring' started by roky1983, Jul 26, 2011.

1. roky1983

roky1983 Read Only Funster

Wanting to go away for 3 weeks from Monday , thoughts are Dover - Calais stop over near there , then either follow the coast down to Brittany with a few stop overs for a couple of days then the boat from Brittany home spending atleast the 3 weeks in France, or from Calais down to Disney with a few stopovers finishing in Brittany then home . I have 2 kids 5 and 2 would like parks with plenty to do , we love cycling and the beach, but I'm a total novice motorhoming so help and recommendations needed
    Thnx all

2. pappajohn

pappajohn Funster Life Member

first time driving in france....or first time abroad in a motorhome ?

first time driving, i would suggest making a card with the words KEEP RIGHT.....and place it on the steering wheel when parked.

so easy to leave a site after a day or two and forget to drive on the right, especially on quiet back roads.

what am i talking about :Doh:all french roads are quiet compered to ours. :Laughing:

3. Loujess

Loujess Read Only Funster

This might sound a silly answer, but I'd get a good book of campsites and and also the via Michelin guide for the area you want to go to, see what sights or attractions interest you and then plan your trip. I'm sure the children would love Disney, but I've never been there and can't comment. The coast along to Britanny is beautiful with miles and miles of sandy beaches and there will be lots of places to stay. :BigGrin:

Ivy

4. tonyg

tonyg

The Peripherique de Paris, leaves the M25 standing.

5. roky1983

Have driven in France so I'm ok with tht , Ne site recommendations or books to get ? ? The kids are sooooo exited

6. Reallyretired

Reallyretired Funster

I don't really do parks but did go to Le Grand Parc (Loire region) which was excellent and a bit different, and I am told Asterix park is better than Disney.

7. roky1983